Here’s Why Freelance Platforms Like Upwork Are Broken

Delton Rhodes
The Green Light
Published in
7 min readJul 31, 2019

--

Background

After graduating from college in 2015, I began building my portfolio in content writing and content marketing. I was fortunate enough to find a few short-term freelance opportunities on freelance sites like Upwork. Slowly, I was able to learn how to write viral content and build an amazing portfolio. I was eventually able to find higher-quality jobs on some of the top online job boards (see my favorites list here). Along the way, I experienced several issues with freelance sites like Upwork, Fivver, and Freelancer. While the quality of user experience (both for freelancers and clients) on these freelance platforms has always had issues, this seems to be more apparent than ever in 2019. Here are the major problems freelancers and clients face today.

Upwork Now Charges Freelancers to Apply

Beginning in May-June 2019, we started to see major changes in the way that Upwork operates. Freelancers first learned about this in April 2019.

Part of an email I received from Upwork on April 2, 2019

Looking at my own profile in early July 2019, I thought that I had 0 available connects when the site implemented these changes. This means…

--

--