Every Softball Walk-Up Song Ranked

The Griffin
The Griffin
Published in
6 min readApr 22, 2024

--

By Cole Stanchina

Hey everyone, strap in because today we’re diving into something that’s totally in my wheelhouse — thanks to my top-tier music listening skills last year (shoutout to my insane streaming stats). Yes, I’m talking about ranking the CHC softball team’s walk-up songs.

As a proud member of the top 0.01% of music listeners,(130k minutes listened) who better to tackle this? I heard them all at the recent game against Deleware State. My list follows the batting order from that game before moving on to the Injured players and those who didn’t play in that game.

Starting us off we have Camille Dunham and her song choice “Can’t Tell Me Nothing” by Kanye West. For the leadoff batter, she has a respectable song choice by one of the greatest artists of our generation. While there are many basic Kanye choices (we will touch on that later) “Can’t Tell Me Nothing” is a perfect blend of a Kanye classic and hype. I’ll be giving this an 8/10 to get us started.

Next up we have Mianna Lopez Del Haro and her song “I Luv It” by Tha Eastsidaz. One of the most unique song choices as not many people know the Snoop Dogg signed California duo, however being from Cali herself the choice doesn’t surprise me. An absolute banger and the beat drop makes the walk up as Mianna comes to play with the way she swings the bat! 9/10

Following Mianna we have Skyler Cunningham. Skyler walks up to “Poochie Gown” by Gunna. Here is where I’m going to give a hot take. THERE ARE BETTER GUNNA SONGS. The iconic “METRO” is not the song I was hoping to hear, however, the beat drop is still solid although the song, like the cafe food, is just lacking flavor. Overall 4/10.

Following Skyler, we have my teammate on the track team Anastasia Watson. Similar to Skyler Stassi chose a modern trap song to walk up to with “Aye!” by Lil Uzi Vert. Contrary to the song above, this song gets the crowd going. As Uzi emphatically screams AYE before a great beat drop to let everyone know this batter is dangerous. Overall 9.5/10.

Batting 5th in the line is Kayla Rolon. Kayla walks up to a Uzi song as well, this one being “Heavy”. I’ll be honest this one was just kind of mid. I felt entirely indifferent about it and after the 2nd at-bat andwas just sick of it as the song faded into the background. Being from New York I would’ve expected to hear some Jay-Z or A&AP mob and they have plenty of bangers. Overall not great not bad. 5/10

Giselle McLaughlin was the 6th batter and she walked up to “Yo Voy” by Zion & Lennox. Following a few straight trap songs, it’s good to see us step away from just hip/hop. Urbano Latino music is always a vibe and this honestly came as a surprise as I wasn’t expecting this song to come out. This gets a strong 7/10 from me however I know some people would definitely rank this one higher.

7th in the line-up and celebrating her senior night for this game was Ashley Soto. Ashley walks up to a barber shop classic “PIN PIN” by Myke Towers. I may not know Ashley personally but it seemed like this song just fit her and the vibes she had throughout the game. Unique, Fun, and Energetic exactly what you want from a walk-up song. 8.5/10

The catcher bats 8th and has one of the most unique walk-up songs I’ve heard. Erika Kwasek walks up to a St Patty’s Day classic Irish Jig. The vibes were immaculate as the dugout started hitting a jig every time she walked up to bat and similar to Ashley it just fit her vibe. Unique, linked to the dugout, and got the crowd’s ears perking. Gotta be a 9.5/10

The last batter for the game was Jenn Pokropinski who walked up to All Of The Lights. Remember how earlier I said there are some basic Kanye songs……… well here we are. I think there are two songs by Kanye you have to stay away from and it is this one and POWER. Everyone knows it’s coming and there are just SO MANY better Ye songs, hell I would take Carnival over this. 3/10 because it’s still Kanye but come on we can do better.

Moving onto players who I didn’t hear live we will start with Jazmine Ramirez. Jazz walks up to “Hotel Room Service” by Pitbull. This club classic is fun, and energetic, and gets everyone going. Jazz is always in a happy and smiley mood so her having anything but Pitbull would be a sin. Although I’m not the biggest fan of Mr. Worldwide I still gotta give this a respectable 7/10.

Following Jazz I move on to pitcher Gabriella Quinones. Gabby walks up to “HYENA” by the one and only Travis Scott. While I would personally take a different Travis song, the beat drop from Hyena is fire and essentially telling the other team to call for help is cold. Plus Travis similar to Kanye just doesn’t miss. 8/10.

Lucianna Boggi, who is currently injured (get well soon!) walks up to “How We Do” by The Game & 50 Cent. Classic West Coast hip/hop is just impossible to mess up and I love early 2000s music. The vibes are there, the beat is fire, and whenever The Game & 50 collab you know it’s gonna be fire. 8.5/10

Next up and also unfortunately injured is pitcher Jordan Tavarez. Jordan walks up to “Disco Inferno” by The Trammps. Absolute classic that I was simply not expecting from any of these girls (no disrespect). Although it might not get people hype you cannot deny that not only is this a classic but “Saturday Night Fever” is a phenomenal movie. Maybe it’s just my bias toward 70s & 80s music but I gotta give it a 7/10 despite the lack of a hype appeal.

Following our trip to the 70s we come back to the modern day with Michelle Baker’s choice of “Saint-Tropez’ by Post Malone. If any of my rankings are gonna piss people off, it’ll be this one. I am not the biggest fan of Post Malone so that will also play a role in my dislike for the song, but it feels like I’m going to school with the school bus driver playing the basic FM radio. The 808s are boring and I feel like Post Malone is just a boring artist. 2/10

Bringing us back to life from the last song we have Amaris Guzman who brings the vibes with Get Low by “Lil Jon & The East Side Boyz”. What can I say about the song that people don’t know, it’s a club classic that even the Sisters, (especially Sister Jean) will bop their heads to. Its hype and a classic. Although on the basic side, I can’t bring myself to deduct too many points from it, so I’ll give it a respectable 6.5/10.

Lastly to rank we have Maya Kemper. Maya chooses a White Girl Anthem, “The Boys Are Back from the High School” Musical soundtrack. Now this may not be exactly what I’d find myself listening to, but I can’t help myself from vibing to white girl music and I can’t help myself from singing along. (Don’t Hate). I don’t know how many other people would have the balls to pull out a High School Musical song so I gotta give my respect to Maya for that. Overall The Boys Are Back gets a 7.5/10 from me.

Now that I have given my opinion that nobody asked for, I know what everyone is thinking, “if this kid is so judgemental what would he even walk up to”.

I will give Four options for Four different genres that I would walk up to (and probably hit a nuke to left field after). First off I gotta go with “Brain Stew” by Green Day for a classic banger pick. Moving into hip/hop and trap I would go with “Otis” by Jay-Z & Kanye West “I THINK I GOT MY SWAGGER BACK”. For a country song give me “Real Gone” by Sheryl Crow. Lastly, for a white girl classic give me” Hollaback Girl” by Gwen Stefani. Feel free to rank my choices and let me know how wrong I am.

--

--

The Griffin
The Griffin

A digital news publication produced by students at Chestnut Hill College in Philadelphia.