Griffins Catch Baseball Fever

Jordan Clark
The Griffin
Published in
2 min readMar 23, 2019

--

By: Sports Editor Jordie Clark ‘19

source: griffinathletics.com

Sophomore infielder, Jared Healey 1.) I believe that this year I just started to realize that we are a young team and guys are going to rely on me just as much as i rely on them, so knowing that i have their backs and they have my back has made it much easier for me to fill the leadership role.

2.) Losing those 2 guys was a big loss, Al is arguably the best player to ever put on a Chestnut Hill uniform, but he graduated so we have to do it without them, everyone knows their roles and are producing in those roles especially having a young team with a few key transfers that will be huge in the run towards a CACC championship.

3.) they are getting better and our guys are coming back and getting healthy. We have a great rotation of starters with some really good guys coming out of the bullpen, I think we will have a good run at the playoffs and the CACC when we get everyone back and Healthy soon!

Redshirt Junior, Zack Szumigala 1.) Exhilarating to say the least, I feel like I’m 12 years old again playing the game I love. Being injured really humbles you and makes you grateful to be a college athlete because at the snap of a finger it can all go away, most people don’t understand what they have until it’s too late.

We did lose one of the best if not the best player in program history Alec Craig. No one is like Al, he is truly one of a kind; however, the seniors and myself have done a good job at bringing the same fire and passion for the game that Al brought to the team everyday.

The little things throughout the game matter the most. When we execute our plan and limit mental errors we are a very tough team to beat. Our pitching staff started off slow but has been fantastic as of late and we expect them to be a vital part of our teams success down the stretch.

--

--