Intern Diaries

The Griffin
The Griffin
Published in
2 min readOct 16, 2016

October 2016

This issue’s diary entrant is:

Courteney Glennan ’17

Human Services

Where are you interning?

I am interning with The United States Marshals Service in the Eastern Pennsylvania district.

What is your role at the internship?

My role as intern is to help the marshals with any aspect of their job as I am allowed. For example, I’ll help them fax important documents out to prisons, I’ll help them make sure all of their files on people who were arrested are in the correct order and have all the correct documents in their files. I will help with office things so they can focus more of their time on catching people who break the law.

How did you get your internship?

I obtained my internship through a family friend. I was lucky enough to have connections with the Marshals Service, but I put a lot of hard work into my education and criminal justice is my passion, so it was an easy fit.

What has been the biggest challenge?

The biggest challenge thus far is not getting to go out into the field with them to see hands-on how they do their job. Obviously it’s too dangerous not only because of the situations that they are in and because of the people that the marshals are tracking down, but also because of the high levels of cop killings in this past year alone.

What has been the most fun experience at your internship?

So far, the most fun thing at this internship is getting to know everybody. All of the marshals are amazing people and really fun to work with. They even taught me how to shoot properly and gun safety, and that meant a day at the range which was a blast.

What advice would you give to other students looking for internships?

For all the students out there worried about internships, whether it’s finding one, applying for one, or actually going to one for the first time: swallow your fear, your insecurities, everything that makes you nervous. I know how scary it can be, or how nerve-racking, but it is the best experience that you will ever have. You will meet so many people that just want to help you grow into your field, you will have so many opportunities to do important work, and most of all you will learn more about what you want or don’t want to do with the rest of your life.

Where do you plan on going after your internship?

After my internship I plan on becoming a trooper with either Pennsylvania or Delaware State Police. This has been a dream of mine since I was 5 years old.

--

--

The Griffin
The Griffin

A digital news publication produced by students at Chestnut Hill College in Philadelphia.