Softball Senior Day

The Griffin
The Griffin
Published in
2 min readMay 1, 2024

By Ahzayah LunsfordEllis

On Wednesday April 17th, Chestnut Hill College recognized their only senior member of the softball team outfielder Ashley Soto.

Soto was honored before the first game of the Griffin’s double header with Delaware State. After transferring in from CCP (Community College of Philadelphia) Soto hit the ground running, she has been named to the dean’s list on several occasions since being a Griffin and was even inducted into Chi Alpha Sigma in Spring of 2023. Soto has also been to NCAA Division II Athletic Director Association Academic Achievement Award winner for 2022–2023 school year.

Only her second season with the Griffins, Soto’s presence was huge to her teammates every step of the way. Sophomore catcher Jasmine Ramirez, wrote a heartfelt message to Ashley.

Ramirez said, “I always told you that this day, your senior day was going to be hard for me. I promised myself I couldn’t get emotional. I am beyond so sad. My heart hurts that I won’t be going to school with you. Please visit because I am going to miss you. This day belongs to you. You deserve everything. I cannot wait till you’re a 22 year old doctor. I love you Ash.”

Soto described her last home game “things pretty much feel unreal. I guess I got to this position a little quicker than I got her so everything is really just hitting me at once.” At twenty years old, Soto will walk out of Chestnut Hill College with a bachelor’s degree.

Soto explained “So a lot of people know i graduated with my associates degree at sixteen. At twenty it hits really hard to believe that next I’m going to get doctorates and a lot of the support comes from my family.” You can hear the emotion in her voice and the realization that her next chapter is quickly coming just around the corner.

After graduation Soto will continue her journey to becoming a doctor at Arcadia University.

--

--

The Griffin
The Griffin

A digital news publication produced by students at Chestnut Hill College in Philadelphia.