Sprint Football Concludes Impressive Start to the Season

Stephanie Brogna
The Griffin
Published in
3 min readFeb 25, 2020

by Destiny Roman, Staff Writer ’23

Photo via Griffin Athletics

Sprint football at Chestnut Hill College is a sport many students look forward to. Not only does it involve the Friday night lights many enjoy, it involves cheering and having the student section go crazy.

This season, the Griffins have had a large incoming freshman class join the sprint football team. They started the season with a 19–6 win against Post University and a 25–22 win against Mansfield University before losing to Navy and the University of Pennsylvania.

After two wins and two losses, the football team seemed determined to win its remaining three games. The team finished it’s season on an impressive three game winning streak.

Pierson Dyson, a freshman, said he has really enjoyed his season so far but can sense some improvements within himself and the team. Dyson seems to have faith in his team and can see the goals his team can achieve.

“The goals I have planned on achieving is to win every last game and to win the chip,” Dyson said.

Another freshman, Jaymond Kelly, described improvements he has noticed about himself since the beginning of the season till now.

“For me, improvements I’ve been making is basically being more aware of my teammates and being more engaged with the plays and paying attention,” Kelly said. “Trying to help and basically just helping my team with defense and being more of a team player.”

Kelly also discussed the team chemistry on and off the field.

“On the field its good,” Kelly said, “I guess only because we all want to go to the championships, and we all got one goal. Off the field is fine. I guess we can be more of a team-bonding team. We should do more team activities … but it’s alright.”

One of the Griffins’ assistant coaches, Rysean Grant, is a current CHC student and was on the team last season.

“I would say coaching for the team this year has really showed another side of football,” Grant said. “It’s been really different for me being a player last year, so a lot of the players were my teammates the last two years, so I feel it really changed the relationship I had with them and was different making relationships with the incoming players.

“With coaching this year, I just had to do a lot more work behind the scenes and it has been a really fun journey. I feel like this is something I could do for a long time.”

Dyson also described his expectation for next season: “My expectations for next season is we have to come more together as a group and a whole, as well as have better faculty and a larger staff and team so we can better ourselves.”

The Griffins finished their season with a 5–2 overall record.

--

--

Stephanie Brogna
The Griffin

CHC ’20 ~ Communication Major studying Journalism and Professional Writing ~ Editor-in-Chief for the Griffin CHC ~ NCAA DII Bowling