Balancing Work, School, Personal Projects and Every Other Damn Thing.

Brandon Poplstein
The Grind
Published in
2 min readFeb 23, 2016

It’s no secret that starting up your own business is a lot of work. The thought of constantly working, going to meetings, traveling, maintaining a social life, and going to class can seem overwhelming if not damn near impossible at times. I mean, let’s face it... We can only be one place at a time. How can someone possibly be able to balance ALL of this with only 24 hours in a day?

The fact is, you’re not going to be able to make every class. You’re probably not going to make every single meeting either. That party that’s on Friday….well it looks like you’re not going. However, learning how to delegate time efficiently will help immensely with this overwhelming wall that we call, the struggle. By ‘delegating time’ I mean splitting up your day so that you spend just enough time to get whatever you need to get done, done. Here are two tips that I recommend using to help you delegate time more efficiently:

Cut Meetings in Half

This is a skill that I picked up on from reading Gary Vaynerchuk’s blog posts and I have to say, it freakin’ works. Not only have I been able to schedule more meetings and meet with more people, but my meetings have become WAY more productive. I no longer talk to Susie about her son’s basketball team or to Bob about how great his fantasy team is doing. Trust me, I love my fantasy football and I challenge you can find someone that is more competitive than I am when it comes to fantasy. But a meeting is not the time nor the place for this. Cutting the time of a meeting in half not only eliminates all of the fluffy crap that comes along with meetings, but it also helps you stay on topic because each party knows that there is a crunch for time.

Prioritize What You’re Working On

Not all things are created equal. I’m sure some projects are more important to you than others. The best advice I can give is to audit yourself and the projects you’re working on. Decide which projects have the most upside and make them a priority. However, still make time for yourself. No matter how busy I am, I always make sure workout at least 4–5 times a week. Fitness is a huge part of my life and if going to the gym for an hour or two is what keeps my sanity while working long days, so be it. If it is important to you, make time for it.

All my blog posts are structured around questions that I receive all of the time. If you have a question that you want answered, reach out on my Twitter or Snapchat: @poplstein_brand. Thanks for your time, and keep grinding.

--

--

Brandon Poplstein
The Grind

SaaS Entrepreneur | Digital Marketing Consultant | Connecting People With Opportunities