Personal Enhancement

Brandon Poplstein
The Grind
Published in
2 min readFeb 29, 2016

One thing that I like better than learning from my mistakes is to learn from other people’s mistakes. Here are some things I’ve learned from both other people and personal experiences that have shaped me into the person I am today. I share these with you in hopes that it will help you in some way.

Lead The Way

Have you ever had that awkward moment at school or at work where your professor or boss asks a question and everyone just looks around at each other? When this happens, it’s time for you to lead. Take this opportunity to set yourself apart from everyone else. Be confident with your abilities. You’re a leader when you decide to become one. There is no initiation or title. Just a decision. There are too many people in this world that turn down great opportunities because the fear of failure trumps their vision of being successful. Don’t be one of those people.

Self-Awareness

In order to be self-aware, you first need to take an inventory of your life. Examine the excuses you’ve made for things not getting done. Don’t get me wrong, this won’t be easy at first. But you must be truthful with yourself in order for this to work. Lying to yourself is only thing holding you back. Once you are able to identify the excuses, ask yourself “What am I doing to fix this?” Are you addressing the challenges positively, proactively, and persistently? The first step to overcome a problem is being aware of it. The next step is having the proper attitude to address it.

Don’t Be Afraid Of Failure

Everyone f**ks up sooner or later and believe me, it’s not the end of the world. I know this sounds like advice you hear everyday…but it’s true.

Admitting you’ve failed when you’ve made a good, thought-out call that may not have worked-out in the end is actually a good thing. It means you won’t waste any more time on a project or idea that isn’t going anywhere. Just because you didn’t get the Gatorade shower on this go-around doesn’t mean you have to shut down. It just means that you have to reset your priorities, workload, goals, but most importantly it means that you have to get the fuck over it. Find a new challenge, or find a new approach to tackling the old one. Once you have a plan in place, execute.

Thanks for reading- I’m Brandon Poplstein. I’m a Co-founder, UX/UI designer, and Web Developer. Since 2015, I’ve been helping other young entrepreneurs get started with growing their own businesses and personal brands. You can ask me to work with you, invite me to speak at your event, or set up a conversation with me. I’m excited to hear from you!

www.brandonpoplstein.com

www.twitter.com/poplstein_brand

bpoplstien@gmail.com

--

--

Brandon Poplstein
The Grind

SaaS Entrepreneur | Digital Marketing Consultant | Connecting People With Opportunities