The Beginner’s Garden: Grow $200+ of Baby Kale for <$25

Carolyn McRae
The Grove Blog
Published in
2 min readJun 27, 2017

I wonder what it’d be like to grow my own food.
I’d love to have fresh greens at home all the time.
I think it’d be so fun to eat food I grew myself.

If one (or all) of these thoughts has ever crossed your mind, this one’s for you.

For The Beginners

We’ve helped many people get growing at Grove. Some folks are experienced outdoor gardeners who want to start indoor growing. Some people are more ‘intermediate’ growers who have cared for house plants, for instance, but not edible crops. Others have yet to grow anything and are ready to start.

During my time here, I have learned one big thing that sets most ‘beginners’ apart is a narrative their head. Usually there’s a worry or excuse in a beginner’s mind that keeps them from starting. These narratives can vary from “I don’t know what to do” to “I bought a basil plant at the store and it died” to “I barely have time to do laundry let alone maintain a garden.”

When you take a hard look at beginners’ reasons for not trying to garden, most are actually rooted in a lack of confidence. Deep down we worry about the unknowns, and it’s easier to ignore our interest than try it.

I’m writing this piece to welcome you to try growing some food. This is your moment to break past mental obstacles, buy yourself a few seeds, and get ready to eat homegrown food.

Ready?

Great! The goal of this free guide is to help you gain some confidence in your ability to grow food from seed. We’ve chosen one crop that’s great for beginners (baby kale), and reduced each step to it’s most simple form. This guide provides an inexpensive, easy to follow program to get you growing >$200 worth of kale with little cash and just 5-minutes of your day.

Let’s get growing! Get the guide at:

HOW TO Grow $200+ Worth of Baby Kale for <$25

--

--