Before being swarmed by taxi men

8760 hours — 31

Staying on the move

Shadi Al’lababidi Paterson
the8760
Published in
6 min readFeb 1, 2017

--

With travel and work it became swiftly apparent that writing every day was not going to work. It was a huge drain of time. Weekly, is better. That way I can still keep track of goals and the days, just in a broader view. Writing on a daily basis, especially when the say simply consisted of working, was not interesting at all.

From 16–31

Well, it’s been crazy.

Let’s start back in Bangkok. We were in Bangkok up until the 19th. It kind of just became a little goodbye.

One day we’re at the Emporium (A big-ass mall in BKK) and we’re both messing about. Well, I decide to mess about just a little bit too much. As we get to the top of the elevator, I put my arms out and stop J from getting off, which unfortunately leads to her toe nail violently breaking and ripping in half. There were lot’s of tears. But hey, we at least got to visit Sukhumvit hospital which was pretty nice.

Sorry, Julie :(

With the Villa lined up and our Visas running out, it was time for a move. Our friends were already in Bali so we were ready to go.

Even Baineese flight attendants are full of smiles

Arriving to meet friends that were once only online, which even started as a purely client-freelancer relationship. Quite crazy to see these things actually materialise and become realised.

Bali is of course beautiful. The last time I was here was last year, when I ended up staying with an Alchemist in Balian. Basically, in the middle of nowhere. Now I’m staying in-between Canggu and Seminyak which is far better.

Food here is great, life here is whole. People smile, the day is slow and full of life. Everyone has a healthy glow. There is no sense of rush nor and sense of frustration or anger. A stark contrast to BKK or even Cambodia.

Our Villa is very pretty

Idillic isn’t an appropriate word. Really, if you’re ready to pull the trigger on moving here, even as a DN for a temporary stay, then do it.

Fortunately, almost by accident, J managed to find work super easy here. She got recommended to go check out an Agency and on the same day was asked to go for a casting. The first casting she tried out for she nailed it and shot the other day. The agency really liked here and is already in line for another shoot. Really crazy, never expected it. The money is far more lucrative that design work and on top of that my laptop is dying a slow death. Meaning I’m having to use Js. Which works out very well in the short term.

These factors combined mean that after our Visa run, wherever that may be, it’s almost 100% that we’re going to be spending a second month here. We’ve also met really inspiring and beautiful people, in all stages of life. It’s very compelling to stay here.

In terms of work, I’m simply working from home. There are no co-working spaces nearby and the cafes are all quite hipsterish and fairly expensive. I’m not used to paying $6 for a coffee anymore. Probably due to being spoiled by the prices in Ukraine, Thailand and Cambodia. This place feels quite expensive. However I’m well aware it depends on where you go and what you eat. You can eat for 50c or you can eat for $10.

Yes, Julia in hospital again

Julia is quick becoming a regular at hospitals. A nasty infection led to back to back antibiotics. We really didn’t want to do it but the infection was too much and with Julia’s shoots/castings we had to make it go away ASAP.

We did manage to fit in some culture in the time we’ve been here. Such as visiting the water temple. But honestly, we can just leave that for later. I do enjoy seeing the sights, but walking through temples are just a bit ‘meh’ for me now.

Thoughts

So Trump was elected. I have a lot of thoughts but nothing to say on the matter.

The only thing I care about right now are self-interests. I’m not American however Trump being POTUS will affect me and you. I’m not going to protest or campaign against him. At this point in time I care more about the impending recession. Either because of him or because of the natural cyclical nature that is the world economy. It’s been roughly 10 years since the last recession. I believe, very strongly, that we will see one soon. I care about two things:

  1. How can I protect myself and my close ones from the coming recession.
  2. What can I do to monetarily benefit from it, or at least put me in good stead coming out of it?

There is a small thought in the back of my mind that we will see armed conflict. I firmly believe it will start in Ukraine. In fact, just yesterday, there was heavy shelling in Donestk with weapons banned under the Minsk agreement. That whole 19% of the Russian Oil company thing, that was sold off through various shell corporations, which just ‘happens’ to match what was leaking in that whole pissing scandal thing with Trump. Well, it raised my eyebrow.

Currently I’m trying to leverage what I’ve been doing for clients, for myself. I’m very over exchanging hours for $. It’s going well for me now, but I want 2 commas a month, not 1.

I became aware that my mindset was lacking, is lacking. I’m holding myself back. I’m making steps to change that currently.

I will be handing 8760 off to my friend Daniel, who will take good care of it.

I’m going to focus on Influencer marketing starting from now.

I need to create a strong following. Detrimentally, I’m very adverse to arrogance. It’s hard for me to show off, knowing what friends and family are going through back home. It would be in bad taste to actually share what’s going on. I still have the dream of returning to Birmingham and making it the Star of the UK. One day.

--

--

Shadi Al’lababidi Paterson
the8760

Just trying to make my own decisions. For more Freelance value, follow me on Twitter -> https://twitter.com/madladshad