8760 hours — 5

Shadi Al’lababidi Paterson
the8760
Published in
3 min readJan 6, 2017

--

Waking up feeling like death. Stomach cramps, nausea etc… Somehow after living in SEA and experiencing its pitfalls, it’s just kind of, normal to me now. I know I’m going to get sick.

However this is actually a blessing in disguise. As it means I have a solid reason not to do anything today other than work. Sad, I know. But my enjoyment comes from seeing users sign up to stuff and clients happy with my work.

Yeah…

Eventually getting out the house after some much needed work, we take a walk to a beach that we have yet to go to. The walk is nice but the beach is ‘same same but different’.

As for everything else; It’s slowly coming together.

The main thing I’m focusing on now is creating quality content. I’m vividly aware that this blog currently does not bring much value. So I need to find a way to add value. I think that will come from writing it at the end of each day, rather than the following morning. Creating a template that it will follow. Making sure that it has actionable thoughts and tactics within it.

8760 is taking off. I mean, really taking off. Over 300 members on FB and 400 signups. Honestly can’t believe it. If I get to 1000 FB group members by the end of January that would be so great. I just need to make sure the quality is consistent. Really don’t want to come off Huxterish at all.

This is a problem. As, I want to promote the lifestyle that I’m able to live and why I think others should consider it over their 9–5s. I also want to promote it in a way that it becomes alluring, so that people have motivation to actually get shit done and follow their dreams.

But I really don’t want it to become anything like ‘Vin Clancy’ or ‘Dan Henry’. I don’t want a focus on money or that swag LA model lifestyle. I need to focus on creating happiness and satisfaction.

I know this is slightly counter-intuitive, as building a brand nowadays actually very much depends on building a personal brand. Building a personal brand is very dependent on actually having people like you and them wanting to live their life in a style similar to yours.

Which basically means doing Tai Lopez style ads. I’m very sure there is a niche out there though for what I would consider smarter, more intellectual people. People who see the value in taking charge of themselves rather than blindly following what their leader says.

Ideas for 8760

  1. Combine mailing lists
  2. Final call for free entry to the 8760 program and access to the mastermind group on Slack
  3. Ask people to write about their own journeys and we feature them on our medium publication. We allow links etc… so they can promote themselves
  4. Create a Google Sheet for everyone to put in their details. Are they looking for a mentor, to mentor, accountability, skills to learn, skills to offer etc.. etc..
  5. Start pushing content every day. 3 different types. Value content. Discussion content and a blog post. Maybe I’ll leave the blog posts out of the group. Seems a little spammy. Not sure.
  6. Replying to everyone is getting super labour intensive and is not scaling well. I need to think of a solution.

Day Stats

Total Work: 5 hours

Total billable Work: 3 hours

Total Travel time: 0Hours

Total signups on site: 380

Total FB group members: 300

Total earned today: $150

Total spend today: $24

--

--

Shadi Al’lababidi Paterson
the8760

Just trying to make my own decisions. For more Freelance value, follow me on Twitter -> https://twitter.com/madladshad