Cart fail

8760 hours — 8

Shadi Al’lababidi Paterson
the8760
Published in
4 min readJan 9, 2017

--

Coastal adventures. Hour 8606.

Join the 8760 Challenge on Facebook

Today’s mayhem

Up early today. We’re going on another adventure. We’ve already been round the coast once, but last time I was a bit shaky on the moped.

Almost 2 years ago I took a course to get the bike license in the UK. That lets you drive up to a 125cc motor. This was on a geared bike. Fast forward to the end of summer last year, I’m in Northern Thailand. Chiang Mai to be exact. Well, let’s just say I didn’t have the best time on the moped. Crashing at 60kmph on a main road after having a van swerve in front of me. My life very literally flashed before my eyes. Perhaps I’m being a little over dramatic, I mean, I’m still alive. Count my blessings etc…

Anyway, today was amazing. First we would drive to Otres beach. A beautiful yet quiet beach, furthest away from us. This is filled with much nicer boutique hotels and this a more family atmosphere. Although there is some backpacker type things there, it seems as though it’s being killed off slowly by the more wealth tourists.

After spending a lovely morning there, we would then ride to Ratanak beach. You can’t see it on the map, but it’s just above Independence beach. For some reason, me and Julie love waves. Like, waves are pretty awesome. We spent the entire time at this beach just jumping into waves. It was brilliant.

Following this we would then ride up the coast towards that big yellow road, which is also the railway/port. We found a super beautiful spot that was very idillic. Only to be chased by a dog while we tried to leave, which wasn’t fun at all. The dog really seemed like it wanted to eat us.

On the way back we would ride through town. Stopping at a meat market. Which by the way, was very disgusting. I mean, I’ve lived and travelled through SEA and feel as though I’m used to boiling hot cramped conditions which a putrid smell in the air. This place took it to a whole new level.

Thoughts of today

To be honest, today was a day of bliss. I did have some worries in regards to client work and 8760, as always. But the main thing I wanted to get nailed down was my productivity stack. It just isn’t working for me at the moment and I have to figure it out.

I also wanted to make the daily blog template a little better. So hopefully it keeps on improving. I actually had some self-doubt, wondering whether or not writing is the correct medium. Then I decided that I should do it for myself first and that writing is the most therapeutic in will serve as a great journal. Also, zooming out, it’s a lot easier to create the bigger picture when writing. At least for me, but perhaps that’s just because I’m more skilled at writing. Rather, have 0 skills at making video. Maybe if by post 30 I can get enough confidence, I’ll start doing short unedited daily videos.

Also, on another note. Something HUGE happened in my life yesterday. It hasn’t actually ‘hit home’. But, wow. 22 years of waiting and it finally happened.

Also also, Shadi, start living a more healthy lifestyle.

Business thoughts of today

Nothing too deep today. It is Sunday. Just keep saying the words of a good friend of mine, over and over. ‘Shadi, get good at one thing and fucking stick to it you idiot’. Now that I’m decent at one thing and actually have a reputation, I need to make sure I don’t spread my personal resources, ie time, to thinly. I strongly believe that was my path the failure in the past and correcting that is the reason why I’m currently succeeding however limited it may be at the moment.

I also need to get into the mindset of being able to charge more and to invoice properly.

Also also, more stats for the end of the articles.

Things I want to measure:

  1. Workout today?
  2. Meditate today?
  3. Journal today?
  4. Hours of sleep
  5. Ate Healthy?

Most of those are to do with the mind-body. I think that is a good thing and something I should be keeping track of. I think it’s actually quite stupid to just be keeping track of business metrics.

Also more links to my stuff, ie-

Join The Growth Schools 8760 Challenge HERE (For FREE)

Day Stats

Total Work: 0hours

Total billable Work: 0hours

Total Travel time: 2Hours

Total signups on site: 419

Total FB group members: 325 (Stopped letting people in)

Total earned today: $0

Total spend today: $30

--

--

Shadi Al’lababidi Paterson
the8760

Just trying to make my own decisions. For more Freelance value, follow me on Twitter -> https://twitter.com/madladshad