8760 hours — 80, time off is time on

What’s the Opportunity cost on time? Reverse Engineering everything, including your goals.

Shadi Al’lababidi Paterson
the8760
Published in
5 min readMar 21, 2017

--

This week has been about realisation.

It’s really, really hard to picture the steps and the way the ‘get somewhere’. Where somewhere is essentially some goal you have in mind. It’s possibly a reason why you procrastinate, I know it is for me.

Going into the unknown is hard. Failure, expected or otherwise is hard. It’s not the act that’s necessary going to cause the anxiety, it’s the uncertainty.

Take for example, asking for someones whatsapp at a coffee shop. Now, for most of us, this makes us nervous. The outcome is something we want. It’s attainable, we can imagine it in our heads. But we’re not always going to do it.

There are many other variables, maybe its just not appropriate, maybe everyone’s in a rush. But that could be your true love, your soul mate and you’re just letting them run on by. Why are we treating our dreams the same way?

For me, the hardest part of all of this is the unknown, I do not know the steps, it just isn’t clear to me. But it wasn’t till this week until I realised to common system that led to most of the success in my life.

Reverse Engineering Success

Now I have goals in mind, I just, I just don’t quite know how to get there.

  1. Build a successful agency
  2. Build a free resource of courses that aren’t just regurgitated bullshit
  3. Build a viable mastermind group

I’ve managed to narrow down the goals. The entire purpose of 8760 is basically these 3 things. I want to do what we actually teach, and I want to be able to teach for free. I want to give the best possible education on Growth in the world and I don’t want people to have to pay for it.

I want people to find other people who are interested in growing both personally and professionally together, I want to be able to facilitate that for free.

Finally, I want to run the best, as in, fuck Gary Vaynerchuk this will be the best; agency for SaaS and eCommerce businesses in the world.

Let’s work it backwards, using 1) as an example.

An Agency needs clients, it doesn’t matter at the start, it just needs them. Somewhere before getting clients, it needs a site, with case studies. A little chicken and the egg, fortunately I already have very good ones.

It needs a way to actually scale, it needs people to service the work. This is actually way easier than it seems, especially for what I’m doing.

So the main blockers are getting a client on board, getting them paid.

I can say this: I succeed (I have a small win), when I have 2 clients paying over $5000 a month which allows me to hire 2 others to work with me.

That’s it, that is the start.

Iterate from there, improve from there, fail and scale baby.

Filtering all of the fucking noise.

Another reason why I despise these shitty coaches. So much noise. So many opportunities online you end up picking nothing. Or you pick something, do it for 2 weeks then give it up.

But it’s more than that, reducing it to trying lots of things would be patronising to you. You have a project and a goal in mind, but getting there, oh man. What’s the best sales channel? What’s the best hosting for x? Which is better, y or z?

Soooo much noise in the world. We over complicate everything. The whole LEAN startup movement can basically be reduced down to ‘Cut through the noise, make something and give it to people’.

What I’m trying to say is

You have something in your mind, we speak about this a lot. Your ‘ONE goal’. Right? This is the culmination of your talent X passion X skills X hardwork up until this point, meaning that you can do something at a certain intersection in life which puts you in the 0.01% of the worlds population for those specific thing assuming you combine those 4 attributes. This is what you’re really good at, or want to be. Combining 2 or more things and just being incredible at those.

Once you have that picture in mind, work backwards. What does the end result look like? What are the initial steps, where it’s okay to fail, I just have to do them?

And remember, it’s okay to fail. It’s cliche to say but actually most likely you have to fail in order to get going, to learn. My anecdote this week will be sales outreach. Okay I’ve got clients 1000s of leads by scraping emails or doing other dubious stuff in the past, but I never actually got on a call with one of those leads. I never actually setup an email campaign and cold-reached out to them. Never once. I have to fail to succeed.

Week in review

RescueTime is looking good, Productivity pulse of 55. Although, and I can’t understand why, I hit every day with a 3+ hour productivity goal. Which is for the first time since setting it. But I also had a lot more unproductive time. Which basically means that I’ve completely polarised my time. It’s either very productive or the complete opposite. I’m either crushing work or crushing netflix. There’s no in between of skimming through facebook.

I think this is entirely optimal. I don’t want to live without low-hedonistic pleasures. At least right now. I enjoy them. But I seem to have cut out the true procrastination.

Interesting thesis that I’m going to take into this week also.

The 8760 is a hyper-flexible network of high level experts that share common culture, infrastructure and experience in the TGE & Consensus space. We work on projects ushering in the fourth industrial revolution, zeroing in on their Strategy, Investment, Marketing and Creative.

--

--

Shadi Al’lababidi Paterson
the8760

Just trying to make my own decisions. For more Freelance value, follow me on Twitter -> https://twitter.com/madladshad