8760 hours — 98, get shit done.

No one needs to know where you’re going, they’ll all see the results. Be quiet, hustle in the darkness, put the work in, the results will speak for themselves.

Shadi Al’lababidi Paterson
the8760
Published in
4 min readApr 8, 2017

--

People who post an update on linkedIN as soon as they get the confirmation letter.

People who tell everyone about their amazing business, only to find them talking about something else entirely at the next event.

People who make it a point of saying they’re an entrepreneur.

People who need to put their ego at the forefront, telling you of their experience and expertise.

People who say they’re doing something, when actually they’re only dipping their toe in.

People who speak as though they’re an expert on the topic, even though they’ve only read the wikipedia page.

People who feel the need to state their accomplishments for the first 10 minutes of their talk.

People who go out of their way to tell you what you’re doing wrong.

People who haven’t done X, but tell you how to do X because they know someone that has done X.

People who offer you a job ‘if you’re lucky’ at their new venture because it’s going to be so good.

Most of all, people who just do nothing, them complain about nothing good happening to them.

Don’t be like those people.

The previous week at a glance:

21 hours of productive time at roughly 3.4 hours per day (Over 6 days)

Currently on a spiritual journey on Ubud. Yoga everyday, lots of reflection. The paleo diet isn’t doing very well here, not really any meat, anywhere. Got accustomed to Vegan food, pretty banging if you just open your mind to it. Not sure of its affects on my body, keeping the fruits and fructose low.

I always talk about scaling other’s businesses and how you can scale yours. Well, now it’s time to do it for myself. The only thing holding me back is myself.

There’s so much to accomplish and I’ve been asleep for the last 5 years. Felt like it’s gone to shit after one large failure and a lot of negativity when I was 17.

Everything up until this point has been because of 1 crazy and perhaps stupid decision I made back them. No regrets. It’s hard to suppress my ego, but at the same time…

Remember when you were in school, perhaps you were the nerdy kid, the smart kid, the unusual kid. maybe a little bit of a teacher’s pet. They would tell you something such as ‘Just do you, they’ll be serving you in McDonalds blah blah blah’.

And yeah, some of them very literally have served me. But fuck that, I really couldn’t care less. They’re just doing them and on their own journey. Most of them, broken homes, unsupportive parents, no-parents, gangs. They’re the ones I feel for. The ones that were little shits in school but are still out there trying to make something of themselves regardless.

The one’s that really make me feel good, aren’t the ones that would give me a dig in the hallway, mess with my bag. Nah, they’ve had their time (Literally, in jail some of them). It’s the private schooled, well-educated, smug ones. The ones that thought they could get ahead of me just because of their parents income.

WELL WHERE ARE YOU NOW FUCKERS.

Cough cough.

In all seriousness. It wasn’t till I stopped giving a shit. Stopped going on instagram. Stopped opening myself up to jealously, envy, self-hate. It wasn’t until I just took a look at my self deeply till i could recognise what was going wrong. Actually, not going wrong, more where I could improve.

Staying true to this sentiment, I can’t wait for what is coming next. I’ve worked so hard to get to this point and it’s finally time to SCALE.

I just hope that this won’t one day show up in LADBible as a ‘Working class kid becomes millionaire overnight’ story.

Take away

Disassociate yourself from your body, your environment and your upbringing. Be a realist and firmly grasp where you are right, exactly, now. Don’t make excuses for you past, you have to let it go. You have to start acting on your next steps right now. After you finish reading this. You have to start, in whatever way makes sense.

The sky isn’t the limit, fuck that. Think beyond.

Good luck, get shit done, see you at the top.

The 8760 is a hyper-flexible network of high level experts that share common culture, infrastructure and experience in the TGE & Consensus space. We work on projects ushering in the fourth industrial revolution, zeroing in on their Strategy, Investment, Marketing and Creative.

--

--

Shadi Al’lababidi Paterson
the8760

Just trying to make my own decisions. For more Freelance value, follow me on Twitter -> https://twitter.com/madladshad