Oliver Blakemore

I Meta for You

Oliver “Shiny” Blakemore
Mosaic Playbill
Published in
2 min readSep 19, 2016

--

I want to fiction because it seems awfully hard to get my point across without it.

That’s a gross over-simplification of my life, but it’s a kernel of it.

There’s things I want to say, and it’s been hard for me to say them out loud or without metaphors. So I say them in novels, which I’ve sometimes described to myself as extended exercises in metaphor.

The skin I’ve mostly liked to pull over my fiction is the “fantasy” skin. It’s apparently good practice in the industry to have a common name for the skin your fiction wears. Mine wears “fantasy” skin. It’s a remarkably freeing genre, in some ways, since I treat it with a broad definition, (i.e., stories taking place in an invented universe that doesn’t seem to aesthetically justify the “science fiction” skin).

So I write fantasy.

I’ve decided to write under the pen name Oliver Blakemore. I rather like the ring of it.

Eventually, I intend to make a living off of my writing. Fiction’s what I like best. I mean to make a living off of my fiction. So let loose all your hardest criticisms. I am treating you like my coaches, hardening my writing so it can withstand the withering of worldly appraisal, and so that it’s the best I can offer so it’s worth the “price of entry” as it were when I start charging for it.

I’ve got a novel and a bunch of short stories in the hopper. They’ve been bouncing around in my head without much feedback from other writers long enough. I hope that showing them to you writers of the Mosaic might help me to get them focused, polished, and prettied up for a selling market.

Here’s a summary to a cycle of the short stories:

Any feedback would be welcome. And if the story summaries spark your curiosity, and you’d like a draft to give feedback on, let me know. I’ve got at least the first installment of The Wandering Cycle written and ready for critique.

Thanks, me beauties.

Keep in touch. Sign up to get updates on my adventures. It’s like a newsletter, but less “news” and more “letter.” I’ve taken to treating the internet like a huge street bazaar. To that end, I would feel blessed if you’d consider supporting me on Patreon.

--

--

Oliver “Shiny” Blakemore
Mosaic Playbill

The best part of being a mime is never having to say I’m sorry.