5 Hard Truths You Must Know Before Freelancing/Side Hustling/SMMA Full-Time

These are the things influencers won’t tell you.

Marvin Marcano
The GYST

--

Photo by Oksana Manych on Unsplash

I’ve been freelancing for well over four years now. Not because I went online, watched many videos, and decided to freelance. It was really out of necessity. I needed to figure out how to make money and started trading my skills. Any skill was up for sale. And if I didn’t know how to do something, I figured it out online.

Within the first two years, I narrowed down what I wanted to do and who I wanted to serve. Two more years later, I’m confident in finding new work, fulfilling my current work, and living a comfortable life without a boss.

Recently, I’ve seen videos on YouTube about Freelancing, SMMA (Social Media Marketing Agency), side hustles, and so on. They all have clickbaity headlines that say you can make $10,000 a month and that clients will pay you $1,500, $2,000 for services right out the bat.

That’s a load of trash.

Can you get there? Absolutely. I have landed clients in those ranges before. But it’s not all roses. If you’re a solopreneur, freelancing, or starting an agency, you need to know the hard truths before you spend your time diving into it.

1. It can take at least 1–2 years to…

--

--

Marvin Marcano
The GYST

Personal Development, Fereelancing, and Writing. Becoming a better person. You should too.