Why HackRU?

HackRU
HackRU
Published in
4 min readSep 21, 2017

Leading up to the closing of registration for HackRU Fall 2017 (it closes on Oct. 1!), we asked students who have previously attended HackRU about their experience at the hackathon and what they took away from it.

Danahlee, Major: Nursing

Q: What’s your name and major?

A: My name is Danahlee Lalaine Bacorro and my major is Nursing.

Q: What made you come to HackRU?

A: Many of my friends are engineering or computer science majors, and were all attending the event.

Q: What was one of the biggest takeaways you had from HackRU?

A: That everyone is welcome to HackRU, regardless of coding experience.

Q: Tell us about an experience you had at HackRU.

A: I appreciated the many different team-building activities that HackRU provided.

Q: What would you tell someone participating at their first hackathon?

A: I would tell them that technology is part of the foundation of many careers, and there is always something that can be made more efficient or effective through tech. Participating in the hackathon can open their eyes to the possibilities tech can provide for their field.

Q: How is technology going to shape your career?

A: Technology not only expedites nursing practices — such as documentation of medication administration or communicating with members of a healthcare team — it provides a safety net for human error by reliably keeping track of the expansive database hospitals keep. My goal one day is to have a Masters in Nursing Informatics, a field that allows nurses to manage healthcare databases and applications. One role of the nursing informaticist is to optimize the applications used for documenting patient care (which is quite a tedious and lengthy process), allowing the nurse to focus more on providing effective care for the patient.

Matthew, Major: Chemical Engineering

Q: What’s your name and major?

A: My name is Matthew Aquino and my major is Chemical Engineering.

Q: What made you come to HackRU?

A: HackRU is an open event not necessarily just for CS majors. I wanted to learn more about the projects people worked on and get a feel for CS in general. Also, word of mouth from friends who have attended.

Q: What was one of the biggest takeaways you had from HackRU?

A: I saw what could be accomplished in a 30 hour time period. How groups can collaborate to create a useful app or a new end product.

Q: Tell us about an experience you had at HackRU.

A: I remember the mini events in between like building the tallest tower by stacking cups. Using VR gear or borrowing a Kinect Sensor to play around with 3D programs.

Q: What would you tell someone participating at their first hackathon?

A: I would tell them not to worry about the technical or coding side. Hackathons are a fun event meant to get people interested into the field.

Q: How is technology going to shape your career?

A: As a ChemE I will definitely have to interact with technology throughout my courses and career. Currently some of my classes require logic based thinking which will eventually have to be translated into code and used to help run the processes I design. Having an understanding of the machinery and technical side of things is an important aspect of my career.

Amna, Major: Public Health

Q: What’s your name and major?

A: My name is Amna Abbasi and I am a Public Health major.

Q: What made you come to HackRU?

A: A lot of my friends went so I went to accompany them and see what the hype was all about. HackRU is advertised as a learning experience and open to all majors. I went in with an open mind excited to learn about all the up and coming new technology and to become more knowledgeable in a field I am not too familiar with.

Q: What was one of the biggest takeaways you had from HackRU?

A: I think seeing all the people working on their computers working all night was something I really admired. Their hard work and dedication was something that really inspired and intrigued me.

Q: Tell us about an experience you had at HackRU.

A: I think volunteering as a public health major was something that was very interesting to me. I saw the other side of things and how different computer science majors are and how their work is and having a different perspective on things was new to me.

Q: What would you tell someone participating at their first hackathon?

A: I think I would tell them to have an open mind and try to learn new things at the event.

Q: How is technology going to shape your career?

A: I think technology is a big part of every career nowadays. Being a public health major, I plan to work in global public health or epidemiology and within those fields, research and disease control/prevention is a huge part and we would all rely on technology to help us make the job easier.

Head on over to www.hackru.org to register for HackRU Fall 2017 on October 14–15! And look out for more of our past participants’ experiences at HackRU in the coming days here on Medium!

--

--