Haiku: It Is Still There

International Haiku Poetry Day 2022

Cendrine Marrouat
The Haiku Shack
Published in
2 min readApr 17, 2022

--

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

This morning, I learnt that April 17th is International Haiku Poetry Day.

As you probably know by now, I am a fan of the Haiku. Most of the poetry forms I created in the last few years are inspired by it.

Months ago, I wrote a haiku that quickly became one of my favorites. Here it is below.

It is still there
autumn’s reflection
yet departing.

©2021 Cendrine Marrouat

Haiku have rocked my world for many years. I have studied and read thousands, especially the ones written by the Masters—Matsuo Basho, Kobayashi Issa, Masaoka Shiki, and Yosa Buson.

Whenever someone asks me for advice regarding impactful writing, I always answer the same thing: Learn to write traditional haiku! There is no better way to practice and master the “Show, don’t tell” technique.

That’s it for today!

--

--

Cendrine Marrouat
The Haiku Shack

Writer & author, photographer, co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy, and (co-)creator of literary forms. https://creativeramblings.com.