Hair Stories #4

Unruly

Soline Doyle
The Hair Stories
2 min readApr 13, 2020

--

She tells me about her childhood, how her mum used to cut her hair very short because she didn’t know how to deal with her “unruly” mane. ‘There was that one time when a girl asked me out on the first day of class because she thought I was a boy. I still laugh so much when I tell the story’. A few months ago, her hair started falling out. There was no apparent explanation for it. ‘I was losing handfuls of hair and there was nothing I could do to make it stop’. She describes how completely powerless and desperate she felt when seeing how her hair kept falling out despite trying a variety of treatments. She now suspects it’s because of the shampoo and conditioner she had been using. ‘What’s the name of the brand again? Deva Curl’. The New-York based company has received a lot of (negative) attention lately because so many women seem to have been suffering from extreme hair loss as a result of using the products. ‘It’s growing back now but I really thought I was going to become bald’. She tells me that she would like me to talk about it so that other women who may have used Deva Curl products and experienced side effects know that they are not crazy or alone. ‘I wish these brands would respect the rules’, she says. The worst thing is, they are, or they simply would not be allowed onto the European market. That it is exactly the reason why more research needs to be conducted with regard to the ingredients used in cosmetic products. That is exactly the reason why the rules must change.

The Hair Stories used to be an ode to inspirational women whom I talked to about their hair. The Hair Stories have now transformed into a weekly blogpost where I talk about the history and politics of hair.

Any ideas? Write to me at soline.doyle@gmail.com

--

--

Soline Doyle
The Hair Stories

Dual Master’s in European Affairs and International Public Policy — Digital, New Technology and Public Policy — Sciences Po Paris/LSE