Hair Stories #5

We need to talk (about my hair)

Soline Doyle
The Hair Stories
2 min readApr 20, 2020

--

I remember meeting her for the first time and thinking to myself how incredibly confident she seemed. There was something powerful about her which I liked immediately. Although destabilising at times, I admired the somewhat unapologetic directness with which she spoke. Most impressive of all was her ability to switch from the most solemn of conversations to having everyone in fits of laughter over some of the most outlandish stories I have ever heard. She came to me one day, her usual outspoken-self: « Soline, we need to talk about my hair ». She told me that her curly hair comes from her dad’s side of the family on the French island of La Réunion. She confessed that although she notices how her sister looks after her own curly hair, she herself was never really motivated to do something specific with hers, or spend ‘hours in the shower’ for that matter. Lately, however, she’d felt the need to change something about the way she looked after her hair. She told me that our discussions had convinced her to change her ‘hair habits’. She was determined, as usual, to go for it. I advised her on which products to buy and how to use them. Her enthusiasm was palpable and, frankly, contagious. A week or so later, she sent me pictures of the results. She was in awe of how much her hair had changed as a result of using the new products and modifying her routine. When I asked her for a photograph to illustrate this week’s Hair Story, she sent me this one and said: ‘I was in Barcelona and my hair was super curly, probably because of the heat. I felt great’.

The Hair Stories used to be an ode to inspirational women whom I talked to about their hair. The Hair Stories have now transformed into a weekly blogpost where I talk about the history and politics of hair.

Any ideas? Write to me at soline.doyle@gmail.com

--

--

Soline Doyle
The Hair Stories

Dual Master’s in European Affairs and International Public Policy — Digital, New Technology and Public Policy — Sciences Po Paris/LSE