Are You Seeing Young Adult This Weekend?

Edith Zimmerman
The Hairpin
Published in
1 min readDec 9, 2011

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ar_-v7dEEoo

“I have a lot of the same addictive qualities as her. I feel like Mavis is self-destructive in a lot of ways that I can be. She’s addicted to fast food. She has an unhealthy relationship with alcohol, which is something that I’ve dealt with in my life from time to time. She is obsessive-compulsive; you see her pulling out her hair and binge eating and binge drinking and obsessing over her high school boyfriend, and unfortunately those are ugly qualities, but I do relate to some of them.”
— Young Adult screenwriter Diablo Cody outlines the ways she resembles the movie’s protagonist, Mavis (as played by Charlize Theron). The movie currently has a 79% on RottenTomatoesevil queen Charlize forever.

--

--

Edith Zimmerman
The Hairpin

Spiralbound editor. Formerly at The Hairpin. Also now making a newsletter: https://drawinglinks.substack.com