Ask Baba Yaga: Are People Judging Me Because I’m Single and Childless?

Taisia Kitaiskaia
The Hairpin
Published in
2 min readFeb 26, 2014

Transcript after the jump.

Dear Baba Yaga,
I am an introverted person and generally happier when I am alone. But I often feel that others are judging me and think that I’m weird because I don’t have a “significant other” or kids by this time in my life. I don’t think this judgment is all in my head. How can I become more comfortable with the life that I have chosen for myself?

BABA YAGA:

It is strong to be yr own creature, to carry the weight of yr life on yr own back. & it is strong & strange to be unknown by others, to do:all the knowing yrself. But love must be weaving in & out of you somewhere. )Where , is it going, where does it come from? If you can answer abundantly, you are a Whole creature, & must be held in great awe by those who question you.; For I am such a being & it is a great honor to be unseen by the earthly, but to love & be loved by the darkling things I seek. .

Previously: “Where Does the Time Go?

Taisia Kitaiskaia is a poet, writer, and Michener Center for Writers fellow. She’s taking questions on behalf of Baba Yaga at AskBabaYaga@gmail.com.

--

--

Taisia Kitaiskaia
The Hairpin

Author of #LiteraryWitches (@SealPress 2017) with @katyhoranart and #AskBabaYaga (forthcoming from @AndrewsMcMeel).