Ask Baba Yaga: Was It a Bad Idea to Break Up With My Extremely Kind, Extremely Boring Boyfriend?

Taisia Kitaiskaia
The Hairpin
Published in
1 min readMay 16, 2014

Transcript after the jump.

Dear Baba Yaga,

I recently broke up with my boyfriend, who is one of the kindest and most boring people I have ever met. Was that the right choice? Doesn’t boringness cancel out kindness? Will I find someone kind and interesting?

BABA YAGA:

If a man is a stump filled ; with goodness, he is still a stump. Choose men as alive as you want to be in yr own human flesh.

Previously: “How Can I Stop Feeling Like My Chronic Illness Is a Curse?

Taisia Kitaiskaia is a poet, writer, and Michener Center for Writers fellow. She’s taking questions on behalf of Baba Yaga at AskBabaYaga@gmail.com.

--

--

Taisia Kitaiskaia
The Hairpin

Author of #LiteraryWitches (@SealPress 2017) with @katyhoranart and #AskBabaYaga (forthcoming from @AndrewsMcMeel).