Ask Baba Yaga: What to Do About the Fact That I’m a Huge Shithead?

Taisia Kitaiskaia
The Hairpin
Published in
1 min readAug 13, 2014
BABA

Transcript after the jump.

Dear Baba Yaga,

I recently realized I’m a shitty friend, an apathetic daughter, and a selfish lover. How can I change?

BABA YAGA:

Deep change is unlikely. ; But you may go out to the edge of the pond with the stars below you & the stars above you, & draw down into the ink of yrself where is the feeling, & close yr eyes & bless those who love you anyway even as you are so small. & if you do such-so nightly you will keep the knowledge of who you are, & that will be the beginning of it.

Previously:How Will I Know When It’s Time to End My Ultimately Doomed Relationship

Taisia Kitaiskaia is a poet, writer, and Michener Center for Writers fellow. She’s taking questions on behalf of Baba Yaga at AskBabaYaga@gmail.com.

--

--

Taisia Kitaiskaia
The Hairpin

Author of #LiteraryWitches (@SealPress 2017) with @katyhoranart and #AskBabaYaga (forthcoming from @AndrewsMcMeel).