Five Brooches That Say, “Yes, I am Madeleine Albright.”

For when you’re feeling positively diplomatic.

Mica Unger
The Hairpin
2 min readMar 29, 2017

--

Brooches are conversation pieces. They can class up any outfit, and even help make peace with someone at work, whether it’s Russian Foreign Minister Yevgeny Primakov, or Jim from Accounting. Here are some brooches that say, “I am elegant and sophisticated, and I am also former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright.”

Flower Brooch

Sometimes, you need a brooch that says, “I will play beach volleyball with you, but let me negotiate this deal with Kim Jong Il first.” I, personally, would wear this sensible brooch for a fun day in the sun, or if all of my other brooches were on display at the Smithsonian.

Magnifying Glass Brooch

This is the brooch of self-discovery. My good friend, Gloria, borrowed this brooch and discovered she had quite the penchant for Connect Four. I recently wore this brooch and discovered my parents were actually Jewish, and escaped Czechoslovakia just two weeks after Nazi occupation.

Gold Eagle Pin with Diamond

If you can’t contain your love for this great nation, this is the brooch for you. I’d recommend wearing this brooch if you want to show some patriotism at your next Super Bowl bash, or if you have to make a nationally televised speech at the Democratic National Convention. No matter the time or place, this brooch screams, “I love America, and I testified for the enlargement of NATO in front of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.”

Leaf Brooch

This brooch screams, “I was born Marie Jana Korvelová on May 15th, 1937 to Anna (nee Spieglová) and Josef Korbel. After immigrating to the United States on November 5th, 1948, I attended the Kent Denver School, and ultimately, Wellesley College, where I wrote my thesis on former Czechoslovakian Prime Minister Zdeněk Fierlinger.”

The Brooch of Redemption

This brooch pleads, “I’m sorry for implying that there’s a special place in hell for women who don’t vote for Hillary Clinton. Please don’t let this become my legacy.”

Mica Unger is a senior at Brandeis University. She is doing okay.

--

--