Fnarr, Fnarr!

Cassie Murdoch
The Hairpin
Published in
1 min readFeb 23, 2011

“Oxford Dictionaries … recognised hundreds of other new words and phrases created by mobile phone texting. These include ‘sexting’ (sending explicit images or messages), ‘tbh’ (to be honest), ‘feature phone’ (a mobile phone with extra features) and ‘fnarr fnarr’ (sniggering in textspeak). New entries unrelated to the worlds of the internet or texting include ‘tanorexia’ (an obsessive desire to get a tan), ‘jazz hands’ (a gesture with hands waved to express excitement) and ‘trolleyed’ (extremely drunk).” The Oxford Dictionary added a bunch of new words that we can now feel OK about using. Let’s use ’em in a sentence: “Tbh, I think I have tanorexia. Omggg, I’m sooooo trolleyed that I can’t even use my feature phone for sexting. : ( I guess I’ll just make jazz hands. Fnarr fnarr.”

--

--