I Wish I Could Ride A Bike As Effortlessly As People Do In Music Videos

They make it look so easy.

Jenny Nelson
The Hairpin
4 min readMay 2, 2017

--

The other day, I was transporting three cartons of marigolds on my basket-less bike’s handlebars when one carton capsized and cruel gravity brought my flowers out of their dirt. There is no disconnect quite like the one that exists between what I think I can do while riding my bike vs. my actual cycling reality. I blame my hubris and resulting failure on, if you can believe it, music videos. I am perpetually trying to carry a trumpet or wear a dress on a bike, as I have previously seen set to my favorite music, only to have my hopes dashed when I catch a glimpse of myself in a mirrored surface or make eye contact with someone who I have horrified. Here are some of the videos, if you will have them, that haunt me with a brazen misunderstanding of bikes and unreasonable aspirations as to my appearance while riding.

“What’s A Girl to Do?” by Bat for Lashes (2004)

Honestly, HD versions of these videos elude me much in the same way that looking cool while biking eludes me

Most Haunting Unattainabilites:

  • Riding with a large group that generally maintains the same pace as you
  • Biking in the dark of night with no lights and no apparent fear of law enforcement enforcing the law against not using lights in the dark of night
  • Cycling without a helmet

These are the feelings and aptitudes I seek when I am cutting through an unlit Prospect Park at 10pm, filled with fear after watching 2/3 of Lifetime’s Who Killed JonBenét but then deciding to leave to go to an acquaintance’s party.

“Put Your Records On” by Corinne Bailey Rae (2006)

Most Haunting Unattainabilities:

  • Riding on a sunny day without sweating
  • Not needing to lock your bike when you gets off of it to put ribbons in trees(?)
  • Being dressy on a bike with no additional gear, not even a helmet

In my mind, I am CBR, but in reality, I am riding my bike through Industrial Maspeth, Queens, sweating through a bra I unfairly promised myself I would never wear on a day I am going to sweat (every day).

“Goat Hurt” by No Age (2007)

See above caption re: HD quality!!!!

Most Haunting Unattainabilities:

  • The roller skater high five at 0:45 expresses an unspoken camaraderie with other wheeled beings
  • When he drums on the handlebars…!
  • No helmets still

Once, I saw a cyclist whiz down Metropolitan Avenue, throw his head back, and scream-sing, “Today is the greatest,” from the Smashing Pumpkins song “Today” (1993), and even this moment wasn’t all that enjoyable in the end because I know it sounds made up when I try to tell other people.

“Side to Side” by Ariana Grande (2016)

Most Haunting Unattainabilities:

  • Siri search “how to look sexy while riding bike????”
  • The Ariana-style hi-pony (unattainable at all times but especially would be impossible…
  • …if she were wearing a helmet and not a custom hat!)

The one time I went to SoulCycle, the instructor had me sit in the front so she could guide me, and at one point she thanked me for giving 100% and then said “…SIKE!”

“Cash Machine” by D.R.A.M. (2016)

Most Haunting Unattainabilities:

  • Having almost no issues shooting stuff into the air while biking
  • Having enough money that shooting it into the air is a viable option
  • Again, using a hat as a helmet

Last fourth of July, I rode my bike around Governor’s Island and threw grapes, one at a time, into the air for my friend who was riding behind me to catch in her mouth, but she didn’t catch a single one because “I” was “bad” “at throwing???” Then, when we were back, we rode through residential Brooklyn and passed a girl who was doing braids like a lemonade stand but for hair and she gave me a braid crown for only $6, and okay, okay, yeah, that’s pretty cinematic I see your point. :)

Jenny Nelson lives, writes, and performs in Brooklyn.

--

--