My Favorite Songs About the Apocalypse

The Hairpin
The Hairpin
Published in
1 min readJan 12, 2012

by A Mayan

I was going to make a whole list, but then I looked at my iTunes and realized I pretty much have the same three on repeat, haha. But they carry me through the whole emotional spectrum, I guess — excited to nervous to sad, and back again.

And regarding the final song on my list: who will you ask to dance during the world’s final “slow song”? And what do you think will even signal that the final slow song has begun to play? Earthquakes, avalanches? Anything? Nothing? Assuming there’s something, though, when faced with the world’s final slow song, will you have the presence of mind to pick a partner and dance, or will you stand there voiding your bowels? Personally, I’d like to think I’ll at least be able to do both.

Britney Spears, “Till the World Ends”

R.E.M., “It’s the End of the World as We Know It”

Boyz II Men, “End of the Road”

Image by Lukiyanova Natalia / frenta, via Shutterstock

--

--