Scott Lenhardt and the Twenty Four Hour Woman

Edith Zimmerman
The Hairpin
Published in
1 min readJan 10, 2013

“When you do things naked, it’s funny.”

Artist Scott Lenhardt draws the Twenty Four Hour Woman, a character who appears in the video above and is now the subject of her own calendar, available on Etsy, and it seems like there’s nothing to not-like about any of it. So I got in touch with Scott, who was kind enough to answer a few questions over email.

Can you tell me anything more about the amazing house in the video?

The little cabin is actually in upstate New York. I was living and working there for the past few years, and recently moved to Brooklyn. (I wish that place was down here!)

What’s the status of the 24 Hour Woman mug?

It’s in a cupboard upstate at the moment.

And how would you describe the Twenty Four Hour Woman’s hairstyle?

First and foremost, it’s simply really fun to draw hair like that. The style itself is one that I have grown up with (in Vermont), and I still see it everywhere. I have always had an appreciation for women who spend a lot of time on their hair. I know it’s probably not an easy thing to take care of every morning, and it’s kind of like a crown.

***

Well, I’m going to spend a lot more time on my hair now. Scott’s website is slenhardt.com, and the Twenty Four Hour Woman is also a good t-shirt and poster.

--

--

Edith Zimmerman
The Hairpin

Spiralbound editor. Formerly at The Hairpin. Also now making a newsletter: https://drawinglinks.substack.com