My Simple Writing Exercise to Get Creative Juices Flowing

The short answer: freewriting

Tan SiHui
The Happiness Den
2 min readMay 28, 2020

--

Photo by Surface on Unsplash

Freewriting is all about spelling out your thoughts word for word. And I mean it.

It goes like this: Today is Wednesday the 27th. I woke up feeling great and had a cup of coffee for breakfast. Today’s weather is hot and humid in sunny Singapore. I get dressed and stepped into my home office, setting up my 2015 13-inch MacBook and getting logged onto online lecture at 10 am. The lecture was about demand and supply in economics and lasted for about an hour. After class, I took a short break before attending the second lesson of the day, on leadership. The lesson was about discovering our leadership style. It was quite interesting and engaging two hours spent. Then, it was time for lunch. I had brown rice and fish soup with lunch. Dessert was a bubble-tea ice cream bar. After lunch, I felt food coma hitting me, so I took a nap. When I woke up, it was time for the third and last lecture of the day. It was a Business Technology and Analytic class.

Freewriting is just like documenting your experiences in a journal, except that it helps to get the words flowing much more quickly. With freewriting, there’s a new source of inspiration for you to draw inspiration. From the above example, I can start a new draft on my feelings on online school, the challenges I faced and its perks. I can also talk about how my Business Technology and Analytic module better prepare students for the future world. A great article doesn’t have to be something everyone is talking about; it can be as simple as what you experience in daily life and turn that into something inspiring and educating for readers.

As writers, there are days where we can finish an article in 30 minutes, while on other days, we don’t seem to be in the mood for writing at all. On those days, even thinking of one word hurts our brain.

I want you to know that it’s not a sin to experience writer’s block; it’s perfectly okay. Writer’s block is part of being a writer. Our writer’s journey is full of ups and downs, and that’s what makes our writing journey unique to us.

The next time you experience writer’s block, try this simple writing exercise to help you churn out those smooth flowing articles again.

Thanks for reading and keep writing!

--

--

Tan SiHui
The Happiness Den

Finding meaning in life through writing. When I’m not writing, I’m busy cuddling with my Pomeranian 🐶