Check-out

A short reflection and small thank you note.

Thomas Waegemans
The Happiness Table

--

I would like to finish this project off with a traditional Hyper method: reflection — a meaningful way to round off a project, to internalise learnings and to have a peek of what’s possibly ahead.

I’ve given myself the time to answer two questions: what are the things I could’ve done better? and what are the things I did well?

Three things I could’ve done better.

  1. I have to confess that I often like the hunting part most above anything else. Figuring out the what is super essential for any project, but I must say that I’ve been looking and pivoting one too many times. That is why my work sometimes stayed too superficial. I could have gone way deeper. E.g. coming up with more ideas and prototype them better.
  2. I should have made a stronger connection between the domains and the drivers behind happiness by e.g. interviewing people who do agile and finding out whether that really affects their happiness. Deduction could sound smart, but real life experimentation is way more powerful. (I guess this was only the scope of the project and that I’m not finished yet).
  3. I don’t have a plan (yet) to implement my learnings. How am I going to convince people to use my product? How am I going to implement these ideas myself? I’m definitely going to read stuff about change management in order to stretch myself further.

Three things I did well.

  1. I’ve done very well in understanding the thoughts of experts and opinion leaders and transforming them into actionable ideas.
  2. I went through a huge amount of data and I’ve managed to synthesise it into one big thought: The Happiness Table. I’m pretty proud about that.
  3. I’ve started with these three beliefs and stayed faithful to them. I even managed to transform these beliefs into goals and figured out how to reach them.

Thank you

Ian Crocombe. You trusted me with briefings and problems. You gave me opportunities in which I could shine. You gave me the most important push. Thanks for that.

Jim Ralley. You were a great supervisor. You asked the right questions. You were the best listener. You are made for your job, because you live and breathe the Hyper values.

Kasia Zaniewska. You always had time for me while being that busy. I admire the way you think and deal with problems. Your willingness to push for innovation is contagious. You are my professional example.

Hayley Mills. You care and are always ready to listen. You understand me very well, and it’s a pleasure working with you in our Canon cabin.

Gregory Mastrianni. Even though you’re operating from NY-NY, you always managed to support me from a distance. Your opinion and your wisdom were priceless.

Daniel O’Connell. I admire your square-shapedness. There’s nothing you aren’t able to pull off. You always cared about me and working with you is a pleasure. Also, you’re one of the kindest I know.

Thomas Driesen, Jacob Bernaerts and Felix Garriau. You are always very approachable. You are the very first people I reach when having initial ideas and you give me the most valuable conversations. I love you.

Mathieu Lacaze, Magnus Blikeng and Salman Chaudhri. Being your roommate is good for my brain. I learn so many things being in your company because the three of you are so different. Living with you is fun and I can’t wait for the upcoming summer weekends.

Marvan Shamma and Andres Gonzalez. It was nice to check-in with each other on a regular basis. I appreciated your help and it was super valuable to listen to your feedback. We should keep on doing this.

Paula Benetton, Mia Chuang and Daniel Gonzalez aka team fluffy. Having lunches with you guys while chatting about work is way better than a support group. We should grab the first opportunity to work together and make the world a better and cooler place.

And probably the most important: my parents for giving me the shelter I sometimes need. You’ve always supported me and I know you’ll never let me go.

— Thomas

--

--

Thomas Waegemans
The Happiness Table

Business Design Lead @fjord & Startup Mentor @QMUL — Previously @SR_, @GA & @hyperisland