5 Things I Wish I Could Tell My Mom as a 30-Year-Old Single Woman

Sorry, mom, I’m not making any effort to find your future son-in-law.

Rashmi G
The Happy Human

--

My mom was my first best friend.

She brought me up as an individual and never as a girl who would live most of her life with her in-laws. She made me trust books and skills over looking pretty.

I was allowed to dance at weddings with my uncles, climb trees with my childhood gang, and play football with tough guys in our area. She supported me with no complaints when I fell in love at 17 and came running back with a shattered heart and bruised self-esteem.

This bond lasted until I turned 29 and refused to see prospective grooms anymore for an arranged marriage.

There were a lot of heated debates, tears, and unforgivable words both of us could never take back. But I found the strength to refuse my mom’s wishes for the first time in my life.

Not a single phone call ends without her asking if I am talking to “someone” and asking me to get married in 2021. I just smile.

There are a few things I learned while piecing my life together as a single woman, entering the dating scene, and observing the world around me.

--

--

Rashmi G
The Happy Human

I write about Single Life, Relationships, Culture, Empaths, Mental Health Awareness, Self-Love and Life. And yes I am an ENFP:) rashmisatya64@gmail.com