Why Solo Dining Can Be a Treat for The Soul

Eating alone can be a liberating experience.

Shalaka Laxman
The Happy Human

--

Last month, while on holiday, I went for a massage and decided to grab lunch at the Thai restaurant next door. I went on holiday with a group of close friends, but they were still back at the house; so armed with a summer novel, I decided to have a long leisurely lunch alone.

The curious thing about eating alone in public is how people are often confused by it. When I asked for a table for one, the waiter looked momentarily doubtful and then regained his composure to lead me to a lovely table in the garden.

After ordering my food, I pulled out a book to get comfortable (Exciting Times by Naoise Dolan, for anyone wondering).

It was a warm sunny day, and I was ready to get lost in my novel for a couple of hours — but an unfriendly wasp wouldn’t let this happen under its watchful eye.

Disclaimer: I’m afraid of most insects, but I’m terrified of wasps. As the wasp buzzed around me, I panicked and stood up to move away from the table. At this exact moment, the waiter returned and watched the scene, slightly amused for a minute.

He assured me the wasp was harmless and would fly away when I sat back down with the food. I didn’t believe him (wasps are never harmless!), but I…

--

--

Shalaka Laxman
The Happy Human

Avid reader and proud cat lady. Writing a weekly sustainability news focussed email newsletter at www.byshax.com/newsletter.