Seven Books That Will Change Your Life

The seven books I read once a year.

Jessica Lynn
The Happy Spot

--

Books shape who we become. A book is like a friend. The right book can re-educate us and inform our lives for the better. A book can be a mentor when we have none or entertain us when we have no one.

There are a few books that have stood the test of time and are so good I reread them once a year when I’m feeling off track.

I find new revelations of meaning. I skim through their pages and read highlighted paragraphs and sentences that resonated with me during the first pass.

Sometimes, a book crosses our paths when we are not ready to meet it; its message goes right over our heads. This is what happened when I picked up number two on this list the first time I tried to read it, the second, and the third. Not until the fourth time, after my life took a turn, did I understand its wisdom.

The following seven books I revisit at least once a year to keep my noblest impulses alive and remind me of what is essential for living well while amid a world that is chaotic.

The Gift of Fear — by Gavin de Becker

I couldn’t put this book down as soon as I read the first sentence, “He’d probably been watching her for a while.” I’m fascinated with human behavior.

--

--

Jessica Lynn
The Happy Spot

Entrepreneur + Writer. Come join me in the creator economy. Get my eBook, How to Make Money on Medium. www.thrivingorchidgirl.com/ebook/. Hit FOLLOW ⤵