Doing ‘work’ that doesn’t feel like work

Kathryn Sheridan
The Happy Startup School
3 min readJul 31, 2018
Picking out our new office at Greenbizz.brussels

“I see you posting intriguing ‘working but it doesn’t really look or feel like work’ pictures all the time and I want to know more”, my friend wrote. People wanting to move into more meaningful work have a way of finding me. It’s an honour to be able to share my story with them, in case it helps.

This message reminds me how incredibly lucky I am.

I get to play around on social media, occasionally posting something meaningful and call it ‘work’.

I get to meet interesting people and have conversations that matter to me and call it ‘work’.

I get to think about things, write articles and hang out with entrepreneurs who inspire and motivate me. And call it ‘work’.

On days like these, it’s a dream come true.

I know this freedom has been hard-won and that I couldn’t do it without an amazing team and partner behind me. But I realise how extremely fortunate I am to have built a life and a career I love — more days than not.

Before my one-year sabbatical, I was drowning and my bodyclock was so messed up, it was like having permanent jetlag. Stepping away helped me in very many ways. I gained perspective, recovered my focus and creativity and did a whole lot of healing.

Since I came back, it hasn’t all been easy. Financially, there have been (and still are) some challenges. It’s hard for a founder-led business to stay the course when the founder isn’t around, even when the team gives it their all.

It hasn’t been a walk in the park but what made the biggest difference to me recently was reconnecting with the why.

My why is to do good work and make a difference.

Put simply, this is why I work, why I set up my firm ten years ago and why I don’t really mind how my career pans out over the next ten. Because as long as I’m connected to my why, I know I’ll be ok.

The role I play now is different to before the sabbatical. I act as a sounding board, help the team kick off projects and bring creative and critical thinking to support them. I’m responsible for business development and the vision.

Of course, there are days when it’s a slog. Or when my energy is drained and I can’t face it. But then I let it be. I no longer push or strive or force.

One of my golden rules is to manage my energy not my time.

So I walk the dog. I get out in nature or sit in the garden. I drink my tea. I read and I rest. Then when I’m ready to go back out there, I go. Allowing myself the time to reset my energy makes for incredible connections in the real world — and even some entertaining social media posts.

If that’s ‘work’ then I’m ok with it.

--

--

Kathryn Sheridan
The Happy Startup School

Trauma-informed coach and Ecotherapist with a sustainability background. Curator at PEOPLE PLANET PLACE.