The 40 Best Films of 2023

Gary Green
The Hard Cut
Published in
5 min readJun 2, 2024

These are the forty best movies I saw that had a UK release date in 2023, either via a theatrical release, physical home release, or VOD release.

40.
The Flash

39.
Fallen Leaves (Kuolleet lehdet)

38.
Joy Ride

37.
65

36.
Bottoms

35.
A Man Called Otto

34.
Asteroid City

33.
Babylon

32.
The Whale

31.
Indiana Jones And The Dial Of Destiny

30.
The Creator

29.
Air

28.
The Fabelmans

27.
Killers Of The Flower Moon

26.
Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse

25.
Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning Part One

24.
Women Talking

23.
Chicken Run: Dawn of the Nugget

22.
Taylor Swift: The Eras Tour

21.
Wonka

20.
M3gan

19.
Creed III

18.
Elemental

17.
No Hard Feelings

16.
Scream VI

15.
Dream Scenario

14.
Puss in Boots: The Last Wish

13.
May December

12.
Knock At The Cabin

11.
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3

10.
Rye Lane

‘I’m interested in people’s messes.’

09.
Anatomy Of A Fall (Anatomie d’une chute)

‘I just want you to know that I’m not that monster, you know.’

08.
Dungeons & Dragons: Honour Among Thieves

‘ I don’t want to see you die. That’s why I’m leaving the room.’

07.
Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.

‘We must, we must, we must increase our bust!’

06.
Tár

‘It is always the question that involves the listener, it’s never the answer.’

05.
John Wick: Chapter 4

‘There is no John out there. No happy man with a normal life. There is only John Wick: The Killer.’

04.
Godzilla Minus One (Gojira -1.0)

‘Is your war finally over?’

03.
Barbie

‘To be honest, when I found out the patriarchy wasn’t just about horses, I lost interest.’

02.
Oppenheimer

‘Are you saying that there’s a chance that when we push that button… we destroy the world?’

01.
Past Lives

‘You dream in a language I can’t understand. It’s like there’s this whole place inside you I can’t go.’

--

--