10 Odd Facts About State Fairs

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
3 min readMar 6, 2022

--

They are not all the same.

Cartoon By Lambert-King

Most of us have probably been to a state fair. I worked the Oklahoma State Fair for 11 years as a sales rep for AAA. It wasn’t a terrible experience. As time rolled on, the time spent there wasn’t particularly lucrative, but did provide an interesting people-watching experience.

Hopefully, this piece will prove both interesting and profitable. And here we go.

1: From the Minnesota State Fair comes this tidbit: It takes 6–8 hours to carve someone’s face in butter.

I did realize the true meaning of butterface. I’ve heard she has a great body butterface. Those are mean people I hear that from. I’m currently being beaten about the head by my wife now. Will resume this piece when I recover.

I think some faces would take longer. Whoops, being beaten again. Once again, I’ll take a break and will go on to the second point.

2: Coupons for the State Fair of Texas don’t expire.

The same doesn’t necessarily apply to people who eat the food at the State Fair of Texas.

3: More than 125,000 people were taken for a ride on the Texas Star Ferris wheel in…

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.