12 Cool Things About Getting Old

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
3 min readJul 15, 2022

--

I admit this piece is a stretch.

Cartoon by Lambert-King

I admit that for the most part, I’m not enjoying getting old. As I get older I recognize more and more limitations. Of course, recognizing limitations and making adjustments does make getting old easier.

By giving up other responsibilities, I have freed up more time to write. So, I gave myself the challenge of finding cool things about getting old. It was a deep dive. So here are some cool things about getting old.

1: You blow off meetings or events that you don’t want to attend and blame a failing memory.

Keep in mind key phrases such as, “Was that yesterday?” Or, “Was that last week?” You get the idea.

2: Enjoy your cataracts and hooded eyelids.

How is that possible? Well, I find I don’t need sunglasses. The excess skin and cataracts add like an organic sun shield. Hang on, my wife just came into the room. At least I think that’s her.

3: I get my steps in more subtle ways.

Frequent trips to the bathroom at night count. I also count my mind wandering as exercise.

4: There’s more time to spend with loved ones.

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.