12 Things You Didn’t Know About Kevin Costner

He’s cashed in on baseball movies and westerns.

Larrylambert
The Haven

--

Creative Commons: US Department of State

When it comes to Kevin Costner, I have mixed emotions. He’s been big in westerns and baseball movies, which is a plus for me, but he also projects a certain aloofness which is a little off putting.

Also, while two of his baseball movies, “Bull Durham” and “Field of Dreams,” have been blockbusters, the other, “For Love of the Game,” was a disappointing chick flick. Turning a baseball movie into a chick flick is a serious cinema sin in my book.

Costner, however, does look like he could actually play the game, which is a plus. I really liked his swing in Bull Durham. So, with my editorial out of the way, here are some things you might not have known about Kevin Costner.

1: Earlier in his life Costner was a smoker but quit cold turkey when he no longer enjoyed it.

That would seem to indicate great willpower, but later in life Costner was somewhat of a serial womanizer. I guess some habits require more willpower to break than others.

2: Costner’s first movie was “Sizzle Beach,” aka Malibu Hot Summer.

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.