12 Things You Didn’t Know About Sam Elliott

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
3 min readNov 21, 2022

--

He looks like he was made to star in westerns.

Creative Commons: dbking

I like westerns. When it comes to actors who seem especially at home starring in a western, Sam Elliott is the leader of the pack. Tall and lean, with the best mustache in the business (Tom Selleck’s is second) and with a deep Texas drawl, Elliott seems straight out of central casting when it comes to western stars. With this frame of reference, I decided to see what else I could find out about Sam. Below are some things I came up with.

1: Both Sam and his father loved the outdoors. Elliott’s father worked in the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and didn’t want Sam to get into acting.

Specifically, Sam’s father was in “predatory and rodent control.” When Sam decided to go into acting his father must have thought he had gone over to the enemy.

2: Do you think Sam’s voice sounds “Smokey?”

Then you would be right. Sam has been the voice of Smokey the Bear.

3: Sam has a secret for staying humble.

He and his wife, Katherine Ross, have a secret for staying humble. They have animals including horses, dogs, cats and chickens and…

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.