13 Short Stories of Unforgettable First Dates

Things that went terribly wrong…

Atanas Shorgov
The Haven
7 min readApr 5, 2022

--

Finding your person is not always easy. How many first dates could you have before meeting the perfect one? Here are 13 stories about first dates that will make you cry and laugh.

#1

I was looking for a relationship on a famous dating app. I met a nice guy there, and we arranged a date. He came over with his wife. They were looking for a surrogate mother for their future child, and I seemed like a nice fit for them.

I don’t meet on the Internet anymore.

©Palata №6/VK

#2

My parents met in the village, and my mother was not from there. On their first date, my father took her out at night to steal watermelons in someone else’s garden. My mother said it was scary, but a thrill! She found out that it was my grandmother’s garden only after the wedding.

©Podslushano/VK

Photo: Nauris Pūķis/Unsplash

#3

I met a guy, he suggested we go out, and I agreed, though I didn’t trust him much. We went to watch a movie. We went to the movie theater, the parking lot. The lights were dimmed.

He got out of the car, opened the trunk, and came at me with a knife.

My whole life flashed before my eyes, I ran out of the car and told the security guard everything. He was detained.

Later on, it turned out he was a chef, always carried his knife with him, and decided to show it to me. He never called me again.

©Podslushano/VK

#4

I met a girl, we went on a date, everything was great: she was cute, beautiful, smart. We went to her place and started watching a movie, and then she handed me a pair of scissors and told me to cut off a piece of my hair.

Of course, I was shocked and asked her why should I do that. She points me to the wall, where are about 30 frames with names on them, and in each of them is a piece of hair.

She said they were like a memory of her ex-boyfriends and that she could use them for fortune-telling if her boyfriend ever betrayed her. I was stunned, and I ran away without even saying goodbye.

©Kerchtt

#5

A guy was supposed to come to my house. I was cleaning up before he came over. The day before, I’ve got a gorgeous bouquet of roses from another person, but my cat started chewing on them.

I put the bouquet outside of the house, next to the doorstep.

This guy rings the doorbell, I open it, and he is standing with the same chewed bouquet. Like, look, darling, give me a break.

We never saw each other again.

©Pikabu

Photo: Annie Spratt/Unsplash

#6

In my first year of university, I liked one guy. However, I was not in close contact with him for half a year, and then suddenly he calls and invites me to meet! I’m in seventh heaven, getting ready for three hours and running out on a date.

He says we’ll go to a very interesting place. I think: wow, how exciting!

In the end, we sat for 2.5 hours at this company which lured new clients, and my classmate worked for them! And then, as if nothing had happened, he asked if I would work for them…

©Podslushano/VK

#7

My friends set me up on a blind date, assuring me that I will love her for sure. She seemed strange from the beginning, and the weirder and weirder she got.

At one point I needed to go to the bathroom. She got up behind me and stabbed me in the arm with a dinner knife, claiming that I was “going to leave her and hook up with that pretty waitress.”

I ended up with three stitches and she got expensive treatment in a mental hospital. There was no second date.

©Pikabu

#8

I’m 26, and this is my story… I haven’t had a man for quite a long time. Finding one is a real problem.

I met one who smelled as if he hadn’t taken a shower for a week. On the date, he mentioned: “I always eat before a date, so I don’t eat in a café and don’t waste money on a girl”.

I had sushi rolls and tea with another guy. He went out for a smoke and disappeared without paying.

A third guy came on our date with a package of cottage cheese and his spoon, and just ate it.

Mom, I’m trying, but something is wrong…

©Podslushano/VK

#9

I agreed to a date with a guy I knew. He took me to his favorite restaurant and ordered everything his heart desired: starter, main dish, side dish, and so on.

I’m a vegetarian, and all the dishes had meat in them. He didn’t know about it, and I didn’t bother explaining anything and ordered a cup of tea.

We talked and stayed there for a while. Finally, we got the bill. He said that since we are not together yet, he didn’t owe me anything and offered to pay the bill in halves. HALF.

I threw the money on the table (my job allowed it) and left.

©Podslushano/VK

Photo: Joanna Kosinska/Unsplash

#10

I agreed to go on a date with a man: he was very persistent. We walked along the river shore.

He spent two hours telling me what a tough soldier he was, a sharpshooter, he could shoot down a target with his eyes closed.

And then, as if by magic, a shooting gallery appears on our way, where you can win a toy. Out of 10, he got only 1 shoot, saying that everything is set up here and all of them are the scammers.

And then I hit 10 out of 10, handed him a huge duck toy which I won, and wished him luck. A girl, who is a master in small-caliber rifle shooting.

©Pikabu

#11

One day I went to my friend’s birthday by bus. When I got up and started to walk to the exit, an unknown man followed me.

I got off the bus… so did he. I quickened my pace and walked towards the birthday girl’s house. The young man kept walking behind me.

Frightened, I turned around and asked him why he was following me and what he wanted. I had never seen more rounded eyes than his at the time, “I don’t need anything and I’m not stalking anyone. I’m going to a friend’s birthday party.

That’s how I met one of the guests, and after the party was over, he volunteered to take me home with the words “what if you meet another maniac”.

It’s been two years together and yesterday was our wedding. All night he made jokes that I marry a maniac.

©Palata №6/VK

#12

My aunt told me that she threw out a bouquet of carnation flowers on a first date and told the guy: “I’m not the kind of girl you give cheap flowers to.”

The guy immediately bought roses and soon after that they got married. Every time he gives her only expensive and large bouquets.

She taught me that I should respect myself and show this from the beginning.

I decided to follow her example. A guy I liked invited me to a café. As it turned out, a regular place. I said that I am not the kind of person who agrees on cheap places, and he sent me away.

©Podslushano/VK

Photo: Christian Allard/Unsplash

#13

I got myself a “sugar baby” man because I was tired of having a “normal” life.

No, I’m not old or ugly, due to sports and beauty salons, and I’m in great shape. I have been working since I was 14, now I am 32. Thanks to my hard work I can consider myself a rich woman.

Of course, this affects my relationships with men. My first boyfriend I lived with (who was unemployed for a long time) argued with me that the house wasn’t cleaned and there was no fresh food.

After that, I tried with two other guys because they were strong and independent at first, but after some time, they completely passed all the expenses on to me and had absolutely no worries about their earnings.

I tried to live with a workaholic like me, but each of us needed someone to take care of us after a hard day, and we didn’t have the energy for it ourselves.

I ended up going on a date with a handsome boy from Tinder. He’s 24 and he’s a game streamer without much income.

Almost immediately he told me straight out what he wanted from our relationship, and I thought, “Why not?” He’s been living at my place for six months now. He makes me dinner after my hard working day, gives me massages, and satisfies all my needs.

He gives me rest on my days off. If necessary, he goes with me to all sorts of meetings with my relatives (his financial situation is concealed, of course). For the first time, I am actually satisfied in a relationship because I need only care, loyalty and understanding. Even if for my money.

©Podslushano/VK

I hope that the heroes of those stories will all end well. What is your worst date ever? How did it go?

--

--