14 Things You Didn’t Know About Mel Brooks

Larrylambert
The Haven
Published in
4 min readJan 14, 2023

--

He truly is one of the funniest guys to show up in the last 100 years.

Photo credit: Air Force One on Visualhunt.com

Mel Brooks is one of the greatest producers of satire who has ever lived. For many, their favorite Mel Brooks movie is “Blazing Saddles,” but my personal favorite is “Young Frankenstein.” Of course, there are a number of other outstanding movies are that Mel is credited with. I thought I do a little research regarding Mel. Here are some things I came up with.

1: Mel’s given name was Melvin James Kaminsky, but he changed it because of a trumpet player.

By the time Mel was 14, he was making money playing the drums. He was soon playing in the Catskill. At that time there was a well-known trumpeter named Max Kaminsky. In order to avoid confusion, Mel changes his name to Brooks. Mel chose the name Brooks as his mother’s name was Brookman. So Max Kaminsky is responsible for Mel Brooks. The name, not the person. I figured I had better clarify.

2: Mel served in World War II and saw action at the Battle of the Bulge.

I didn’t serve in the military, but I’m seeing action at the Battle of the Bulge. And I’m losing.

3: Before lampooning Alfred Hitchcock movies…

--

--

Larrylambert
The Haven

You probably don't know my name, but have likely seen my work. I've written for numerous syndicated cartoon strips and my gags have appeared in national pubs.