21 Prefect Hours in Newark, New Jersey

Page Barnes
The Haven
Published in
4 min readJan 14, 2022

--

There’s near riots, non-consensual touching, parties, and the threat of incineration. This trip is off to an awesome start!

Tramps like Boo and me? Baby, we were born to run to the Doubletree Hotel at Newark Liberty Airport.

Yesterday, I took the first leg of my Omicron-influenced journey to Lisbon and points beyond.

The trip started out uneventfully. I was seated on the aisle next to a nice young couple. They were traveling to Omicron central (South Africa) to see his parents for the first time in two years.

Everything was proceeding normally until we were about halfway through the flight. There was a man seated across the aisle and one row in front of me. He seemed to be of roughly my vintage. Nicely dressed. Normal looking.

He stood up, wandered back to my row, and started RUBBING MY BACK!

I was so stunned that I thought I might be imagining things. I mean, who rubs a stranger’s back in full view of a plane full of people? I was so startled that, at first, I could only spit out a confused “Huh?”

--

--

Page Barnes
The Haven

Mom, Lawyer, Writer, Hot Mess. (Retired) Founder of The Haven.