7 Underrated Halloween Costumes

DIY Ideas for Everyone to be Something

L.B. Lewis
The Haven

--

Two people with sheets over their heads and sunglasses, pretending to be ghosts, while walking on a trail outside.
Photo by Alan Cabello

You’re never too old to dress up for Halloween.

When I lived in the San Francisco Bay Area, I was amazed daily by people expressing themselves through their style.

Now that I’m in LA, everyone really does fake it until they make it.

I’ve always believed Halloween is truly a time for everyone to get real about faking it.

Wherever (and whoever) you are, your imagination is the only limit for Halloween.

Case in point: I used to watch a lot of talk shows growing up in Cleveland. I watched so much TV I chose my confirmation name after the patron saint of TV.

One day, I saw the Club Kids episode on Phil Donahue and I got inspired.

Never mind I didn’t know what club they were talking about.

I was a kid in Cleveland, looking for a club (with no idea about ’90s New York City).

But, Halloween was coming. And, I wanted to be (my version) of a Club Kid.

So, with a matted wig, sparkly tights, terry shorts, an army shirt, and a big mess of makeup I was a something.

And, I didn’t give a flying fig what anyone thought of my something.

--

--

L.B. Lewis
The Haven

Author of SMALL TALK WITH MYSELF, a 2022 Official Selection of Catalyst Festival and #1 Amazon book. Views are my own. Founder: MonteCristoStudio.com.