A Christmas Newsletter Critique

Derek Bremer
The Haven
Published in
4 min readDec 15, 2022

--

Aunt Mae,

It’s been quite a few years since we’ve connected and, after reading your newsletter, I now remember why. Like you I have made some resolutions for the New Year and have decided to take some time to enrich the lives of others. As such I have taken it upon myself to correct your newsletter (enclosed) for spelling, grammar, tone and content but there were a few points I felt compelled to go over in greater detail. Let’s start here:

For the New Year I have been praying for the little Mixicans and will be going on a Church mission to build a facility to get them some fresh water and show them the glory of our savor Jesus Christ.

Let’s start with your use of the word “Mixicans” which I sincerely hope with all of my heart was a typographical error. People from Mexico are referred to as Mexicans just as people from Kentucky are referred to as Kentuckians. To refer to the inhabitants of Mexico as “Mixicans” is to tacitly deride a person of Mexican heritage who may or may not have descendants from Africa, Spain, or the area’s indigenous population.

Also noteworthy was your use of the word “savor” when referring to Jesus Christ instead of the word “savior” which I assume you intended. If I am mistaken and you believe that the Son of God is, in fact, tasty I am intrigued by this spin on consuming the body and…

--

--

Derek Bremer
The Haven

When not tending to my family I enjoy travel, long walks on the beach, and animal husbandry.