A WFH Look I’ve Been Living In Lately

Emily Altimari
The Haven
Published in
4 min readMar 17, 2020

If you’ve been following me for a while now, you know that I’m OBSESSED with an effortless look. Finding the right balance of effortlessness, comfort and professionalism for work can be tricky for us boss babes out there!

Sometimes the style struggle can be real, which is why I’m sharing one of my favorite go-to work-from-home staples with you guys! This look seriously SO easy to recreate. I know a lot of you have asked me about this and I’m seriously BEYOND excited to share. Here we go!

OVERSIZED T-SHIRT FROM YOUR FAMILY VACATION TO HAWAII IN 2008 THAT YOU SPLATTER PAINTED DURING YOUR HIPPY PHASE

This is legit my #1 go-to for the home office. This top is seriously so soft due to more than a decade of sleeping in it and also seeing if I could drink tea while laying down in it. The length is PERFECT. It catches everything from that Nature Valley granola bar I’m eating at 8:30 am, to that bag of chips I crack open at 9:45 am, to those Girl Scout cookie crumbs that I pick off my lap and eat at 10:15 am.

It’s really up to you how you choose to style this (I’ll show another option a bit later), but I really like keeping this look simple without pants.

TIP: Don’t wear a bra! A common mistake that I frequently see is people trying to pull this look off WITH a bra, which drastically changes the look. Save the bra for when your neighbor knocks on your door to ask you if you smell gas in your apartment.

CHRISTMAS SLIPPER SOCKS FROM YOUR AUNT TWO CHRISTMASES AGO

Nothing says, “aw, did she just get out of the hospital?” like festive Christmas slipper socks with rubber grips on the bottom for added traction. To nail this look, I’d suggest a pair that’s been through the wash so many times that it’s hard to put them on because the inner lining has almost detached from the outer lining.

GREASY HAIR PULLED BACK IN FRUSTRATION

girl with greasy hair

Okay, honesty check! This is the part that may take a little bit more effort. To nail this look, you’re going to have to avoid washing your hair for two to four days. Then, have your boyfriend kick all of the covers onto you in the middle of the night so you wake up with most of your hair stuck to your face in a flop sweat. After that, have Microsoft Word quit unexpectedly on you a few times and pull your hair back in frustration. Voila! Be sure to leave those extra greasy baby bangs out for a Boho touch.

DRESS IT UP WITH A ROBE FROM YOUR DEAD GRANDMA

Absolutely SLAY your walk to the trash chute by layering this look with a robe that used to be your grandma’s before she died. It’ll make you really sad, but pain is beauty!

Perfect little details, like these coffee stains and/or space heater burns (unclear), tie everything together!

As promised, here’s everything with pants! The pants shown here were given to me by my older cousin, who got them while studying abroad almost two decades ago in Egypt and gave them to me when she moved. I love the artisan details like the lack of elastic and shape! If you do opt for pants, make sure they are a few inches short to really let those Christmas socks shine!

Okay my loves! Now it’s your turn! Feel free to DM me with any questions on this look and tag me on Instagram so that I can see how cute you look in this look (and have some human interaction. Please tag me. Please DM me. Please. I need to talk to someone. Anyone. Would love to have a basic conversation about the weather even! Please. PLEASE!)

xoxo,

Em

--

--

Emily Altimari
The Haven

You know, you never know. Instagram: @umbrelephant.