Alexa, Create a New To-Do for — Timmy, Stop Eating the Icicles! — Christmas

In memory of the late Sophie Cooper

Ly Ann
The Haven
2 min readDec 2, 2023

--

As you all know, Sophie Cooper, born Duval, tragically passed away at the age of 37 at her residence in South Burlington, Vermont at 2:35 a.m. on Sunday, December 3rd. Sophie’s beloved husband requested we publish in her honor the enchanting Christmas To-Do list dictated to the family’s Alexa device moments prior to her fatal, spontaneous head combustion.

o Retrieve all the icicles from the Christmas tree

o And any other ornaments with potential choking hazard

o I’m cooking dinner Mommy will play with you later

o Draw Christmas cards with Timmy

o Buy eco-friendly driveway melt

o And organic humanely-raised turkey from Whole Foods

o Timmy inside voice Emma is sleeping

o Buy recycled wrapping paper

o And Vulli Sophie the Giraffe Teether

o Timmy what did I just say

o Look up best infant winter car seat covers

o Timmy I said no

o Look up best educative toys

o For the last time you’re too young to play Fortnite

o Renew Timmy ADHD medication

o It’s okay Emma

o Come here my little Pumpkin

o Frosty the Snowman was a jolly something with a something and a something and hum hum hum

o Ouch

o Buy lanolin-free cream for cracked nipples

o And a Mrs. Meyer’s lavender-scented soy candle for step-mother

o Soph [inaudible] seen my giant foam finger

o No sorry

o But I need it for tonight’s game

o I can’t now Carl I’m making dinner

o Check the basement

o Buy a PJ set or maybe a Michael Kors bathrobe for step-father

o I don’t know where your stupid giant finger is

o Here’s a brilliant idea

o Why don’t you just go without it

o Yes genius there’s blood on the chicken that’s a common side effect of cutting your finger

o Why don’t you figure it out

o I’m sorry

o I know I shouldn’t yell I said I’m sorry okay

o That wasn’t yelling

o Find something else than Fortnite for your Santa list

o Mommy is bleeding right now

o Put it back

o Timothy Jeremiah Cooper

o That wasn’t nice

o Buy new Lancome Absolue Regenerative face cream

o Look up best childproof drawer latches

o Buy diet margarita mix

o Pay mortgage

o Create new shopping list

o Buy half-off frozen turkey from Food 4 Less

o Find cheap driveway melt Christmas cards wrapping paper candle bathrobe nipple cream face cream winter car seat cover teether and formula on Amazon

o Call doctor for Xanax refill

o Buy Fortnite

o And a gazillion chokeable ornaments

--

--

Ly Ann
The Haven

When Ly Ann isn’t glued to her laptop writing psychological reports or her novel 2090 Untamed, she braves the Canadian winter with her Bernese Mountain Dog