An 11-Year-Old’s Diary Entry on Death

Viraja Teggihal
The Haven
Published in
2 min readJun 4, 2024
A hard bound diary with 2010 printed on the cover page.
My first ever diary

12 January 2010

Man! Today was the worst (100 times and even more) day in 11 years. The most upsetting moment took place. I’ll describe- Everything went on well in school. After I came back home, I was studying for my math test. My parents told they were going for a walk but they went to A’s home (A is my cousin). Ajja (my grand dad) had chest pain and was taken to Panacea Hospital. Unfortunately, he was not saved. He died. I cried v.v.v.v.v.v badly because it is very difficult for me to live without him. He died at 12:30 in the morning after midnight so it was so embarrassing . Almost all my cousins woke up. They arrived by 6 am. Man! I didn’t sleep also (but that was nothing in front of this situation). I could touch Ajja for the last time. His body was too cold. I felt really sad for this event.

To top this entertaining description of my dear grandfather’s death, I went on to write a heart attack poetry for climax :

The Great Man, The Rare Man, Who filled all our hearts, And lost his own heart! With lots of love, Viraja
no words
I sent it to akka (My sister) yesterday

--

--