An Administrator’s Relationship With Microsoft Excel

6 issues administrators face when dealing with Microsoft Excel.

Shamar M
The Haven

--

Photo by Sebastian Herrmann on Unsplash

I have been in an administrative position with my job for nearly three years. Within it, I’ve had to use a lot of Microsoft Office. Word, PowerPoint Presentation, Access, SharePoint, the lot. Quite frankly, the second that Microsoft became available to us on our computers and laptops all those years ago, we have all been using the Microsoft Office platforms.

However, there is just one demon platform within the bunch that I have never been able to get my head around and I constantly hear my employees complaining about. Microsoft Excel.

Launched in 1985, Microsoft Excel has helped organizations around the world create fancy spreadsheets which are presented in columns and rows, allowed us to input fancy formulas so we don’t waste all our time on a calculator, allowed us to filter and find and, create complicated graphs.

Microsoft Excel is by far the most popular spreadsheet package in the world. Forrester Research has found that 81% of businesses use Excel. Despite all these great functions and millions of users around the world, the platform is an absolute nightmare.

My manager rang me a few weeks ago and asked me how confident I was in Microsoft…

--

--

Shamar M
The Haven

27. Based in the UK. PG DIP HR Management. Chief of publication The First Time. Editor in About Me Stories.