Can I Be an Icon for My Birthday*?

It’s my party, can I be “fly” if I want to? That’s up to you.

Michael Burg, MD (Satire Sommelier) 😬
The Haven

--

Photo by Marjan Blan | @marjanblan on Unsplash

My birthday’s coming up, and as usual there’s nothing I want or need.

Or, more properly, there’s nothing I need and there WAS nothing I wanted.

That is of course, until a writer-friend of mine informed me that I was a writing “ICON!” Her word, not mine. I assumed she was joking, but once she tarred me with that brush she refused to back down.

I suggested that when it came to writing I was a “barely can” rather than an icon. But, like I said, my friend stuck to her guns, and now I’m convinced.

The “Oxford Dictionaries” defines icon as “a person or thing regarded as a representative symbol or as worthy of veneration.” Example, “this iron-jawed icon of American manhood.”

Merriam-Webster puts it like this. “A person or thing widely admired especially for having great influence or significance in a particular sphere.”

Both, kinda dry, in need of some fleshing out.

So now that I wanna be an icon, of the writing variety, for one day, my birthday, please help a brother out.

--

--

Michael Burg, MD (Satire Sommelier) 😬
The Haven

The “MD” & “um” in Medium, and the “er” in wisenheimer | Doctor Funny editor/czar | Sultan of satire | disgraced former parking lot attendant